WotS – it’s all about the friends

29 Sep

I’m on Twitter, well,  ALL the time. Not only is it a great way to procrastinate, but I’ve met some really, really nicce people through Twitter. In fact, Amy from Amy Reads ( who I met on Twitter) was one of the gals that headed over to Word on the Street with me.

Before I went I put out a general tweet asking if anyone else was going to be there. I knew I chatted regularly with some folks in the Halifax area and thought it would be fun to meet face to face.  As a result I got to meet 4 of my favorite tweeps.

I’ve met people in real life from online before (Hell, I married one) and it’s always a bit nerve-wracking because you never know if you’re going to hit it off once you actually meet. When we all met up there was some general nervousness at the beginning, but from there it was just like a group of friends hanging out.

It was a super cool experience. Honestly there wasn’t anything weird about it at all. We laughed, we talked, we ate, we drooled over books. We all parted with hugs and promises to try and visit again.

I’m a major introvert – no really, I am – and I don’t often do the group thing. I usually prefer to hand out with one person at a time, and that’s usually the hubs. But my total WotS experience wouldn’t have been half as fun if I had been by myself or with the hubs.

So I say “Yay!” for online friends. You guys rock in a big way.

6 Responses to “WotS – it’s all about the friends”

  1. Allison September 29, 2010 at 7:47 am #

    Awe I am jealous you got to meet some Tweeps. That sounds like so much fun. I am also semi-introverted. I am usually kind of shy when I get to meet someone and would rather a group (of at least 3) meet rather than one on one.. because I tend to feel every silence and it makes me even more introverted, LOL.

    Other times, I’ll just talk and talk. I think it depends on the personality. If the other person is very talkative, then usually it brings it out of me earlier.

    • lavenderlines September 29, 2010 at 7:50 am #

      I’m a nervous talker, so quite often I come across as an extrovert. I HATE long silences when with people so I’ll yammer on and on and on. LOL

      • amymckie September 29, 2010 at 9:38 am #

        I tend to do the same thing Colleen! (Unless half asleep like I was Sunday, heh.) I just keep talking and talking to fill silences.

  2. thekams September 29, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    =D I had so much fun on Sunday, it was great meeting you and the others! We’ll definitely have to try and get together again at some time.

  3. amymckie September 29, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    Hooray for twitter! I’m actually much more introverted than you would imagine from my online presence as well. Until I know someone well I’m quite shy. Luckily once I know people on twitter, real life is fine! I had a great time, thanks again! And it was great to meet so many people 🙂

  4. steph September 29, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    I wish I had thought to do that, to agree to meet up with all those going to WOTS in TO!! Your experience sounded awesome. I did get to meet a couple of pub contacts, though, and that was so excellent; I loved putting a face to the emails and tweets and also getting to thank them personally for how generous they’ve been.

Leave a Reply

