WotS – The books

28 Sep

I must admit – I was mucho overwhelmed by all the wonderful books available at Word on the Street. I knew this was going to happen, so I did up a list of books I wanted to buy before hand. Of course, the list pretty much went out the window from the get-go, but I did manage to stick to my book budget. In fact, I was actually under. I know, everyone go ahead and gasp in surprise. The reason was by about 4 pm I got so tired giddy I had no idea which was was up. (Wait, since I was under, that means I have some book money this week!)

So, the books. ย Most of the ones I picked up are YA contemp with some MG thrown in for good measure. I also couldn’t resist picking up a few graphic novels by local writers and artists. I’m not a HUGE graphic novel fan, but it’s a genre I want to get into more. ย Here’s the books I brought home with me.

Zombie Calling by Faith Erin Hicks
Brain Camp by Susan Kim, Laurence Klavan and Faith Erin Hicks
the road to god knows where by Von Allan
Play Me by Laura Ruby
how to ruin your life and other lessons school doesn’t teach you by Carolyn McTighe
The Dread Crew : Pirates of the Backwoods by Kate Inglis
Rattled by Lisa Harrington(signed)
The Nine Lives of Travis Keating by Jill MacLean(signed)
The Present Tense of Prinny Murphy by Jilkl MacLean(signed)
The Canadian Press Stylebook(14th ed)

I also grabbed some preview books from Island graphic artist and writer Brenda Hickey.

So, yeah it was a great book haul day for me. Now to figure out what to read first……..

11 Responses to “WotS – The books”

  1. Allison September 28, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Haven’t heard of WORD ON THE STREET. What was it? You picked a lot of books!! (But — what’s a lot to a book lover, right?) ๐Ÿ™‚

    Can’t wait to read your reviews on these!

    • lavenderlines September 28, 2010 at 10:54 am #

      Word on the Street is a book festival that’s held in a few cities across Canada.

  2. amymckie September 28, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    A great haul, I have to say ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats!

  3. Moggy September 28, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    You bought my husband’s book! Yay! We have google alerts set up for mentions of his book (just so we don’t miss any reviews and all) and this came up…so cool! ๐Ÿ˜€ We’re both beaming.

    Let him know what you thought of it when you finish, if you get a chance? And that’s one awesome haul of books. I’m so jealous, I need to get to Word on the Street sometime. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for posting this!

    • lavenderlines September 28, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

      Ah, I love when authors are excited when I buy their books! I will definitely be doing a review, so I will make sure to let you guys know. :0)

      • Moggy September 28, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

        Ack, I showed Von my reply to you, all happy like, and he pointed out that I was so excited I forgot to say which one was his…ha! I guess you narrowed it down but, yeah, ahem…:) Sorry about that.

        “road to god knows…”, cough. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • lavenderlines September 28, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

        LOL Yeah, I only bought books by two male authors, so I Google Von. Your name came up in the results so I knew which book it was. LOL

  4. Chrisbookarama September 28, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    I only picked up 2 for me! I don’t know where all my money went.

    • lavenderlines September 29, 2010 at 7:19 am #

      Only 2? Not bad at all!

  5. steph September 28, 2010 at 11:39 pm #

    You stayed within your budget and I went way over mine! I feel badly about it but at the same time don’t regret what I bought. ๐Ÿ™‚ I never thought I’d say this but I think I’m going to have to agree to not buy any books for a few months. I have so many to read and I really do want to read them. I wish I could catch up.

    Chrisbookarama: ONLY TWO?! How did you do that??

    • lavenderlines September 29, 2010 at 7:19 am #

      This was my last big book buying binge until after Christmas probably.

Leave a Reply

