WotS Pitch the Publisher

27 Sep

Any of you who follow this blog or my Twitter account will know that yesterday I went to Word on the Street in Halifax to pitch a book.  I had never done a pitch before so I was pretty freaking nervous. We left at a ridiculously early hour (5:30) and got there in plenty of times for my nerves to kick in full force. We had about an hour before the pitch started so we decided to grab coffee and head over to the Public Gardens. I grabbed a muffin which was stupid because there was no way in Hell I could eat anything. I had entered that teeth chattering, shivering, panicky nervousness where I was pretty sure I was going to either puke or pass out.

But the world works in mysteriously weird ways and apparently the world realized exactly what I needed at that moment. Ducks.

That’s right, ducks. They were everywhere in the gardens. And there is pretty much nothing that makes me happier or more relaxed than feeding ducks. 20 minutes of illegally feeding the Public Garden ducks and I regained a bit of perspective and wasn’t flat out panicked anymore. I was ready to pitch.

And pitch I did.  I pitched my little dorky heart out. And – they liked it! All three panelists LIKED it.

I was floored. My hope going into the pitch was that one of the three panelists would be like, “Yeah, sounds like you’re on the right track. Keep at it!” But I got so much more than that.

Kristin from Formac Publishing said that it sounded like a great YA book and she saw how she could tie it into what they publish. She loved that it was humourous and edgy. She also loved the tentative title WEIRDO (which I came up with 10 seconds before the pitch.)

Patrick from Nimbus Publishing said it was a marketable idea and that I had obviously research the kind of books the publishers were looking for. He also said it was clear I know the genre and the market and it was the type of YA that they would consider publishing.

Donna from Creative Books Publishing – OMG, Donna wants to read some! I mean, she actually said she’d like to read some of it because it sounded like it fit in perfectly with what they publish. We exchanged business cards after the pitch. I even managed to sound professional and keep the happy giggles to a minimum.

I’ve always wanted to be a writer but was never sure if it was really what I was meant to do. During that pitch, listening to the feedback it dawned on me: this writing thing, here? It’s gonna work.

9 Responses to “WotS Pitch the Publisher”

  1. Amanda September 27, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    That’s awesome!! Congrats!

  2. Amanda September 27, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    I’m so happy for you!! I hope this is the beginning of amazing things to come.

  3. slpmartin September 27, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Congrats! I’m sure you’ll be successful.

  4. Suzanne September 27, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    Bravo for taking that huge first step and congratulations for your great feedback. You deserve to be a little bit giddy.

  5. Katie Kruger September 27, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    I really wish I had been there! How awesome. Congrats on the successful pitch.

  6. amymckie September 27, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    Yeahhhh!!! It was way too early, but it was a good time. And you did a great job. And kept the giggles to a minimum 😉 Congrats again!

  7. L September 27, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    congrats! so glad it went so well, and that there were the ducks before hand!

    good luck with all the follow-up…very exciting.

  8. Jo Ann Yhard September 27, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    That’s great! Good luck with the publisher! 🙂

  9. Bella September 27, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

    This is so exciting. I’ve seen how hard some of my friends have worked to get published and I know how great it is to get positive feedback. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

