Music Monday: Word on the Street in song

27 Sep

OMG, Word on the Street kicked so much ass yesterday. I will be doing a few rambling, giddy post over the next few days, but I thought this week’s Music Monday would be dedicated to all thing WotS.

I’m a huge music lover and for special events or days I will often have a bit of a musical background running in my head. I don’t pull a Glee and breakout in song or anything, but I will think of tunes that fit how I’m feeling.

So, I pitched a book yesterday. It’s an YA dealing with being weird and trying to accept it. I’ve spent the last week not only polishing my pitch, but also trying to get to the root of why I wanted to write this book. I realized it’s because for most of the time I still feel like the weird, awkward teen that I was. Once that realization hit, this Kim Stockwood song instantly popped in my head.

Four of us gals headed over to WotS and as often happens when you get girls together, there was talk of boys. And of course the talked veered into the Land of Exes. Whenever I think of exes (and one in particular) this songs always plays in my head.

Yeah, yesterday was pretty much the perfect day for me. Books, friends, and cheesecake. I mean what else could I ask for? It was one of those days that makes me truly happy with where I am in my life. I could get all gooshy and cliche, but I’ll let Shaye take it from here.

2 Responses to “Music Monday: Word on the Street in song”

  1. amymckie September 27, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    A great day for sure! Thanks again for taking me along 🙂

  2. LR September 27, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    I love Kim Stockwood! I’m glad you had so much fun at WOTS. I was at the one in Toronto and it was so much fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

