Amazon, you don’t suck (as much)

23 Sep

As some of you  may know my purchase of an Amazon Kindle went very, very wrong last week. In the end they said “We’re sorry, here’s 30 bucks on your account” as a way of making up for their massive suckage.  My .com account. That I created to buy the Kindle. I’m in Canada. dot ca land. See where I’m going with this? I ended up buying books for a friend in the States since the shipping here would have killed me. I blessed and released the event and bought a Kobo.

Monday’s mail. Anyone wanna guess what arrived? You got it. The rogue Kindle. Which Amazon told me in an email they had deactivated. Oh, they also said in the same email that if it arrived I need to send it back. And first I was like “Hell, no! So what if Amazon deactivated it and I can’t buy books from them. I can still use it as an editor. Screw Amazon.”

But here’s the thing: I am probably one of the most honest people around. And keeping the Kindle = stealing. So today I got the hubs to call them and find out how to ship it back. And here’s why I love the hubs so much – he talked them into letting me keep it.

Yep, that’s right folks. I get to keep the Kindle. I can’t buy books from Amazon.com because they deactivated KiKi (that’s the name of my Kindle) but I can still use it as an editor and upload books from other places.

So, I guess that means that Amazon doesn’t suck as much as I thought they did. It took some convincing, but in the end they did the right thing and I’m a happy little camper. With 2 ereaders.

13 Responses to “Amazon, you don’t suck (as much)”

  1. Bella September 23, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    haha that’s cool. I’m glad they turned it around in the end for you 🙂

    • lavenderlines September 23, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

      I guess at the end of the call she basically said, “Happy now?” LOL

  2. Amanda Makepeace September 23, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    You amazingly lucky devil!! 😀 ((hugs))

    • lavenderlines September 23, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

      The hubs has SUCH a silver tongue! I think they agreed in the end just to shut him up. 😛

  3. amymckie September 23, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    Well, that’s kinda cool! Congrats 🙂

    • lavenderlines September 23, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

      Yeah I wanted it primarily to edit my own stuff and for my writer’s group so I”m very, very happy.

  4. Michelle September 23, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    So glad it worked out for you! Maybe your complaining made them rethink some of their policies.

  5. Jenny N September 23, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

    That’s great, now you have a back up one.

  6. steph September 23, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    Excellent!! In the end it all worked out, only better than you expected in the first place. I LOVE when that happens!

  7. RandomizeME September 24, 2010 at 4:42 am #

    What do you mean by use the Kindle as an “editor”, first time I’ve heard that…

    • lavenderlines September 24, 2010 at 6:00 am #

      You can upload your own documents to the Kindle and edited them. It has a full keyboard on it.

      • RandomizeME September 24, 2010 at 6:06 am #

        I know about the keyboard, but you’re the first one I know of who actually plans to do that. Seems to be the hard way to do it when laptops are much more equipped for editing documents.

  8. Laura Best September 24, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    I guess being honest really does pay off!

Leave a Reply

