In My Mailbox

19 Sep

This weekly meme is a great way to let other readers know what books they should be looking out for. In My Mailbox is hosted by the  The Story Siren.  You can find out more deets about it  here.

I was too sick last Sunday to do an IMM post, so this is for the last two weeks. Bear with me: there’s a lot of books.

BOUGHT

So this week I kinda failed big-time on the whole book buying ban. I ended up buying a bunch of books using an in store credit I had.  Since part of my goal was to save money, I sorta didn’t fail. But I did bring more books into the house.

I could stress out and feel bad, but I’m not gonna. It happened. No biggie.

The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery
The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han
It’s Not Summer Without You by Jenny Han
The Birth House by Ami McKay
The Gravesavers by Sheree Fitch

BOOKMOOOCHED
The House of Scorpion by Nancy Farmer
Trapped in Ice by Eric Walters
Anne of Avonlea by L.M. Mongomery

GIFTED
The Candidates by Inara Scott – Sent to me by the lovely Monica at Bibliophilic Book Blog.

REVIEW
Jake by Audrey Couloumbis (Random House Canada)
Torment by Lauren Kate (Random House Canada)
Dust City by Robert Weston (Penguin Canada)
Virals by Kathy Reichs (Penguin Canada)
The Eternal Ones bu Kirten Miller (Penguin Canada)
The Fossil Hunter of Sydney Mines by Jo Ann Yhard (Nimbus Publishing)
The Fall by Chuck Hogan and Guillermo Del Toro (HarperCollins Canada)

Amazing book care package from Tundra Press:
Gunner: Hurricane Horse by Judy Andrekson
Avalanche Dance by Ellen Schwartz
Winter Shadows by Margaret Buffie
Dear George Clooney Please Marry my Mom by Susin Nielsen
Ghost Trackers by Chris Gudgeon
The Nightwood by Robin Muller
Here Comes the Bride by Beatrice Mann and Anna Laura Cantone

And, I bought some ebooks this week. Why, you ask? Because I got a Kobo eReader!!!!!!! Thanks bunches to my awesomely wickedly amazing folks who got it for me as an early Christmas gift.

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White
Radiance by Alyson Noel
Intrinsical by Lani Woodland

23 Responses to “In My Mailbox”

  1. Jenny September 19, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    Wow, you had a spectacular week! I’m excited for Torment, I can’t wait to see what you think. I have The Eternal Ones on my list as well, I just haven’t gotten there yet. You’re going to have a couple busy weeks trying to get through all those:) Enjoy!

  2. Amy September 19, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    Holy cow, that is a lot of books! I’m really happy to see The Blue Castle there – it is my favorite L. M. Montgomery book 🙂

    • Amy September 19, 2010 at 11:35 am #

      Oh, and The Birth House, but I’ve already twitter gushed about my serious love for that book 🙂

  3. Casey (The Bookish Type) September 19, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    I LOVE LM MONTGOMERY! =) I’m sooo jealous you have Torment! I can’t wait to read your review! Congrats on the new ereader – they’re so awesome! You bought some great books on it! Great mailbox this week!

  4. steph September 19, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    Phew! That’s a whackload of books!! Crazy. I wish Random and Penguin sent me stuff, too! 🙂

  5. thebookishsnob September 19, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    Oooooooohhhh what a FABULOUS book week you have. How are you going to choose what to read first? A little like walking into a candy store and you mouth watering. Have a great week reading 🙂

    Here’s my mailbox for the week

  6. Bella September 19, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    Yay for all those beautiful books & the kobo. I got a case for mine today! I still I’m in the new phase of love with it 🙂

    I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Intrinsical. It looks good.

    • lavenderlines September 19, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

      Started Intrinsical last night and it’s pretty good. LOVED Paranormalcy.

  7. Cat September 19, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    Oh! I was just told in the last month that I should read The Blue Castle! And here you have it on your IMM post. I call that a sign!

    • lavenderlines September 19, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

      I’m trying to build an L.M. Montgomery library again since I seemed to have lost most of her books. Can’t remember if I’ve read The Blue Castle or not.

  8. thekams September 19, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    I am incredibly jealous that you have Dust City! I am dieing to read that book.
    You definitely have a great haul here, and I personally think you only maybe half failed the book ban 😛

    • lavenderlines September 19, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

      Heh, yeah I’ll take a half fail. 😛

  9. LR September 19, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    You’re going to love love love “The Birth House” – Ami McKay is a brilliant author 🙂

    • lavenderlines September 19, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

      I actually read The Birth House years ago but someone stole my copy. Finally replaced it.

  10. brandileigh2003 September 19, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    You have some great reading to look forward to! Here’s my IMMB

  11. Lea (YA Book Queen) September 19, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    I’m dying to read Torment! And I loved TSITP, and I’ve heard the sequel is amazing too,

    Happy reading! Hope you love them all 🙂

    • lavenderlines September 19, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

      Thanks! I was lucky enough to get TSITP and the sequel for 6 bucks each, hardcover.

  12. bahnree September 19, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    Blue Castle is SUCH a snuggly book!!! 😀 I love it.

  13. Alison September 19, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Yay for LM Montgomery! Great reads.
    My IMM

  14. Life After Jane September 19, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    Wow! So many amazing books. Enjoy!

  15. Jenny N September 19, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    Nice books, Dust city looks good and so does Torment. I see you got the Kobo, maybe you should review it on the blog.

    • lavenderlines September 19, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

      Thanks Jenny! I’ll probably do a review of the Kobo next week.

  16. mummazappa September 20, 2010 at 12:14 am #

    Wow what an awesome load of books! And I agree, if you didn’t pay for them then it’s all good and you could still consider your book buying ban a success 🙂

Leave a Reply

