Amazon, you suck

17 Sep

Since my Mom offered to buy me a Kindle in June, I’ve been humming and hahing over whether or not I wanted an eReader and if so, which one I should get. I read a bit on my iPhone so I wasn’t opposed to an eReader. When the 3rd gen Kindle came out and I say the low price tag –  $139 – I thought, “Huh, why not?” The reason I chose the Kindle was that I like the idea of being able to edit my own writing on it.

So my folks agreed to buy me one for Christmas but I could order it right away. Which I did. I received an email a couple of weeks ago say that it was estimated to arrive on the 14th. It hasn’t arrived yet, which in and of itself isn’t a big deal. What is a big deal is that it seemed stuck in Ontario since the 14th. And when I popped in my tracking number on the shipping company’s site, it came up “number unfound”. So I got the hubs to phone Amazon to find out where my Kindle is. And things went down hill from there.

He was basically told that if it didn’t get here by, oh, Oct 3rd they’d cancel the order and then place a new one. Why Oct 3rd? Who the Hell knows. I figure chickie pulled the date out of her ass. Oh, he was also told it could be lost, it could not be lost. They just didn’t know.

Now really, is that an acceptable answer? It’s not like he was asking for a Kindle to magically appear on my doorstep. All he wanted to know was where it was and when we could maybe expect it to arrive.  The hubs repeatedly told chickie that “I don’t know” isn’t a cool thing to tell a customer who’s waiting for a delivery.

After back and forthing with the drone, I mean customer service rep, he asked to speak to a supervisor. He was put on hold for about 15 minutes at which point chickie came back on line announcing she had new information – the Kindle landed in Ontario on the 14th. Yeah, kinda not new information sweetie. Then she said that for all our trouble they’d reverse the $10 shipping charge. Super, but where in the Hell is the Kindle? She still had no clue. But now she was saying to call back if it doesn’t arrive by the 23rd of September. Um, hello? How in the Hell can you change the date but still not know where it is?

The hubs asked her if she could, oh, maybe call the delivery company and find out where the Kindle was. She said she could look into that and get back to us – by Tuesday or Wednesday. WTF? He wasn’t asking her to walk to Ontario, simply make a freaking phone call.

So once again he asked to speak to a supervisor and actually got one. She also had no idea where the Kindle was but agreed to find out and call us by the end of the day. The hubs told her that if, by the end of the day, they still had no idea where it was, they were going to cancel the order, refund us everything and I’d be ordering a Kobo from Indigo.

Oh, and at one point during the HOUR AND A HALF conversation he puffed himself up and said “My wife is a book blogger. If this continues the way it’s going, she’ll be blogging about it letting everyone know about the poor customer service she received. And she’ll order her eReader elsewhere. And you can bet she’ll give THAT company a glowing review.”

After thinking it over, I’ve decided Amazon doesn’t get to the end of the day. I’ve made my decision. I’m hopping in my car and going to get  a Kobo. Cuz if I get the Kindle and something happens to it, I don’t have a lot of faith that I’d get better service that today’s.

So this is the blog post the hubs promised you Amazon. You suck.

*Update*

They emailed me (even though we asked for a phone call) to let me know that my order was lost. I could reorder it or get a refund. I’m going for the refund. Oh and the email that was sent? No frigging way to respond and tell them I want a refund. So the hubs had to call them AGAIN. And was told no, we can’t get a refund. He’s now waiting on hold for Kindle support.

Yes, Amazon you SUCK.

25 Responses to “Amazon, you suck”

  1. Caitie F September 17, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    Amazon does suck for many many reasons. Sorry you had to go through all of this, but I know you will find a way to get an ereader you want! I can’t wait to see what you think of it once you get it!

    • lavenderlines September 17, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

      I’ve decided to go with the Kobo reader. Heading in to get it now!!!!!!!!

      • Marci September 17, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

        Good for you! There is absolutely no reason why they should be this despicable in terms of customer service. If you are calling as a customer to find out information, they should give it to you, you are paying for them to be able to know what is going on.

        If they don’t then it is their loss…

      • lavenderlines September 17, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

        Exactly!

  2. amymckie September 17, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    Awww sorry to hear that it hasn’t been working out well for you. Sounds like a nightmare! I’m glad mine worked out better. Phew.

    • lavenderlines September 17, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

      Thx Amy.

  3. Jennifer @ Mrs. Q: Book Addict September 17, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    That is horrible customer service! I saw the Kobo reader in store and it looks great. I boycott companies after they treat me like that. Is it too much to ask to get what you paid for. Try half paying them, it won’t work. So half-way shipping an item doesn’t either.

    • lavenderlines September 17, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

      Exactly! They really had no interest in helping either. The supervisor was better, but at that point I was done dealing with them.

  4. Jenny N September 17, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    I’ve never ordered from amazon us but have ordered many times from Amazon canada and never had a problem. Anyways I got a Kobo this summer and its pretty good. Very basic and easy to use. The only problem I have with it is that when you load your own documents on it there is no way to change the font size. And didnt Chapters lower the price on the Kobo making it even more affordable.

    • lavenderlines September 17, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

      It was on sale for $129.99. Pretty stoked to try it out tonight.

  5. Jessica September 17, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    Oh good Lord, what a mess. I don’t blame your husband for pulling the “book blogger” card at all…I love that!

  6. Michelle September 17, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

    They deserve a scathing blog post and then some! God bless your husband for dealing with the idiocy that passes for customer service at Amazon and opting to go with a more customer-friendly company! Good luck getting your refund!

    • lavenderlines September 18, 2010 at 8:31 am #

      I’ve received three different emails telling me that they are in the process of refunding the money, so fingers crossed.

      And the reason the hubs dealt with the calls is that he stays so frigging calm when dealing with idiots. I would have been screaming and cursing within minutes. LOL

  7. steph September 18, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    I was becoming angry for you just reading your tweets and then this post!! I HATE when shit like this happens, and when the customer service sucks so badly (first thing I would have done for you is find out if it was lost and then immediately offer to send another. Problem solved. I can’t understand why it was taking so long to find out if it was lost). And I can completely understand why in the end you went for the Kobo. I hope you’re enjoying it now, even though it’s not exactly what you were hoping for!

    And so, so cool of the hubby. I have no idea if mine would go to bat for me like that!

    • lavenderlines September 18, 2010 at 8:30 am #

      It was so infuriating! And to make up for the shitty customer service they created my account $30 – my amazon.com account. Which I can’t really use. So a good friend in the states is getting $30 worth of free book from Amazon.com.

      • steph September 18, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

        GRRRRRRRR!

  8. hellraker September 18, 2010 at 4:16 am #

    Read a review about the Kindle. I am not impressed with the name.
    Kindle/Kindling…too much association with making books redundant.
    I like reading on e-format, but hard copies have their place.

    I do hope that when these tablets becomes cheaper, more people would read.

    • lavenderlines September 18, 2010 at 8:33 am #

      It’s funny, we went to Indigo, bought the eReader, and also left with a paperback! I’m going to a literary event next week end and plan on buying LOADS of books. I know I’m going to get a lot of use out of the Kobo eReader, but I’ll always buy hard copy books, too.

  9. Chrisbookarama September 18, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    Wow, that’s bad, especially the “you can have a refund, no you can’t” bit. I’m not too impressed with the Kindle anyway. There should just be one universal format for ebooks.

  10. Bella September 19, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    I’m with you on amazon’s customer service. Mine was a headache getting a refund when my k3 wouldn’t work properly!

    • lavenderlines September 19, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

      Yeah, they def need to work on their front line.

  11. julie September 19, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Amazon’s customer service does suck. I just went a string of emails with about 6 different reps, when I asked for a transaction register showing my gift card transactions. I FINALLY received the information that I was looking for, but I don’t feel I should have to ask SIX times for it. They need to spruce up their CS dept, and maybe consider hiring people who actually speak and understand English.

    • lavenderlines September 19, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

      The hubs and I both worked in call centers so we’re pretty picky. But it was by far the worst customer service EVER. And to make up for it they credited my account 30 bucks, which is great, except that it went to the Amazon.com account I had to create to order the Kindle.

  12. Liz (Midnight Bloom) September 19, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    Ugh, that sucks!! A lot of corporations think they can get away with stuff just because they make a lot of money and they totally forget they WE’RE the ones giving it to them. Having GOOD customer service should be a no-brainer!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Amazon, you don’t suck (as much) « Lavender Lines - September 23, 2010

    […] Sep As some of you  may know my purchase of an Amazon Kindle went very, very wrong last week. In the end they said “We’re sorry, here’s 30 […]

Leave a Reply

