Music Monday: Florence + The Machine

13 Sep

I’m not a fan of popular music and most female artist today make me want to poke my eye out. Watching MTV’s VMAs last night reminded me why. That’s why I was so happy to see Florence + The Machine performance on the show last night.

I don’t remember who first introduced me to Florence + The Machine, but if I could I would send them some chocolate chip cookies. She’s a powerful reminder that you don’t need to let it all hang out and sing skanky songs (yes, Ke$ha, I’m talking to you) to be successful.

Florence + The Machine’s performance was powerful, beautiful, classy AND live! No lip-synching or auto-tuning, thank God.

I couldn’t find a decent clip of the performance, so here’s the video:

7 Responses to “Music Monday: Florence + The Machine”

  1. slpmartin September 13, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Share your opinion of much of pop musice…but this was actually quite creative and good….thanks…I shall listen a little more of her music.

    • lavenderlines September 13, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

      The whole album is amazing.

  2. L September 13, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    hadn’t come across Florence + the Machine before…course, I admit to not following pop music of recent (recent=a couple of years now) unless recommended from a few sources.

    will have to check out more Florence; right away she has familiar sounds and I know the daughter will want a listen.

    thanks

  3. Bookventures September 13, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    Hi, i found your blog via Amy Reads as part of the BBAW post. I must confess, i really like your post on Florence and the Machine. What am about to say is corny but i actually started listening to this band after i heard their track ‘ Heavy in Your Arms on the Twilight Saga Eclipse soundtrack. I’ve heard of them before but for some reason i didn’t pay much attention (boy was that a bad decision) lol. Anyway i am really enjoying their album Lungs. It’s really great and the lead singer has an amazing voice.

    • lavenderlines September 16, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

      Ah, glad you found my blog!
      Lungs is one of my current favorite albums. Her voice is unbelievable!

  4. amymckie September 14, 2010 at 8:17 am #

    Great song! I hadn’t heard her before.

  5. makina September 16, 2010 at 5:36 am #

    yes thats really great song

Leave a Reply

