It’s official …..

13 Sep

…. I am signed up for Pitch the Publisher for Word on the Street! I mentioned this event a while ago, when I asked for help in deciding what to pitch. I got some great adviced, the most common being wait to see the publishers who will be involved.

Well, I did a bit of research and have decided not to pitch EITHER book. It’s not that I don’t think my books are awesome, because I do. It’s just that Atlantic publishers don’t publish a lot of paranormal or urban fantasy novels.  So instead I am going to pitch a brand-new YA book that I have barely plotted out, let alone written.  This one is contemporary with no ghosts, witches, demons or talking animals in sight. It’s about dealing with what life slings at you, finding out who you are VS who you think you should be. And of course, since it’s being written by me, it’ll be sprinkled with plenty of the quirky and snarky.

Word on the Street is the 26th of this month, which gives me two weeks to plot out the book, get some writing done and plan my 10 minute pitch.

I am nervous. And so frigging excited.

And 100% aware that I don’t really know what I’m doing. So any advice or help you can send my way will be appreciated. 🙂

4 Responses to “It’s official …..”

  1. amymckie September 13, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    HOOORAY!! Good luck 🙂 I’d give you advice but not something I’ve ever done or considered doing, so I got nothing, sorry!

  2. Tara September 13, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    I think it’s a wonderful idea. As for advice, the only thing I will say is be confident in your work when you give your pitch. If you have confidence in it, other people are more likely to as well.

    • lavenderlines September 13, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

      Thx for the advice. I do think it’s a great book idea, so confidence won’t be a problem. What to wear, on the other hand ……. 😛

  3. thekams September 13, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    Yay! Good luck, you’ll do great 🙂 I’m excited to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

