In My Mailbox

5 Sep

This weekly meme is a great way to let other readers know what books they should be looking out for. In My Mailbox is hosted by the  The Story Siren.  You can find out more deets about it  here.

REVIEW
Two books came in this week for review and I am much excited to be on the blog tour for both.

Plain Kate by Erin Bow (Scholastic Canada) – I just finished Plain Kate this morning and I urge everyone to go out and pick up a copy. This one will definitely be on my top of 2010 list.

Apple’s Angst by Rebecca Eckler (Random House Canada) – Digging into this one today. I really enjoyed the first book, Rotten Apple, so I have high hopes for Apple’s Angst.

GIFTED

I already wrote up a post about the happiness I felt when I received my Crazy Book Swap books from Bella over at A Girl Reads a Book. Bella sent two books I have been lusting after for some time. Once again, thanks sweetie!

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

13 to Life by Shannon Delaney

SWAG

I rarely ever get swag, so when I do, I get mucho excited. I also have a thing about bookmarks (I am obesssed with them!) and let me tell you, I had a slew of them come in this week.

Jessica over at Live, Laugh, Love had a contest for a signed bookmark from Maggie Stiefvater. I was over the moon when I won. Bella also sent me some bookmarks with the Crazy Book swap books, including one signed by Bree Despain. Then, Amy over at Amy Reads gave me a bunch of booksmarks, one of which was signed by Denise Jaden.

*Ahem, you will notice that I didn’t buy any books this past week. Week one of the Book Buying Ban is a success!!!!!*

7 Responses to “In My Mailbox”

  1. Midnight Bloom September 5, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    I hope you enjoy The Iron King! It’s one of my favourite books! 🙂

  2. thekams September 5, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    I’m really excited to read Plain Kate, so I’m glad to hear it’s good =) Congrats on the first week of the book ban being a success!!

    (PS: I have a bookmark to add to your collection when I see you for WotS, if you want it)

    • lavenderlines September 5, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

      I would not say no to a bookmark!

      • thekams September 5, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

        Hehe, didn’t think you would! Hopefully it’s one you don’t have yet =)

  3. steph September 5, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    Hey Colleen,

    Do you get books from Random House? Can you email me at steph.vandermeulen[at]gmail[dot]com?

  4. slpmartin September 5, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    Let’s see week one is over on the ban…but the odds-makers in Las Vegas still have not changed the odds on you yet. 😉

  5. Aisle B September 6, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    Congrats on keeping to your Book buying ban… I’ve tried and FAILED miserably!

    nice stash and enjoy the reads 🙂

Leave a Reply

