Wednesday’s Words

1 Sep

A week or so ago I had a pretty vivid dream. When I woke up, I realized that it was the perfect basis for a YA novel. Here’s a rough draft of the opening.

“Honey,”  Dad said as soon as I had one foot in the door, “we need to talk.”

Uh-oh. This so didn’t sound good. I frantically searched  my mind trying to come up with something I may have done wrong. But since I don’t do anything but go to school and come home, I drew a blank.

“Sure, Dad. What’s up?” I walked into the livingroom to find my dad fidgetting on the couch. Okay, this was really kinda weird. My dad was the coolest person I knew. I mean, he wasn’t cool like lets go hang out at the mall and drink lattes cool, but rather he was always very calm about things. But not today.

As I sat down in  my favorite chair, I realized that Mom wasn’t home. That’s not unusual since she works long hours, but I figured any big talk that had dad this nervous would include Mom. Unless –

“Is Mom okay? Did something happen to Mom?”

My Dad laughed harshly. “Your Mom? Oh your Mom is just fine.”

“Okay, well that’s good, right” Dad didn’t answer. “Right?”

“Yes, yes okay, it’s great that your Mom is fine. God, this isn’t how I wanted this to go.”

He stood up and started pacing. Back and forth. Back and forth. He picked up speed each time until he was basically running in a line in front of the couch. If I thought the fidgeting was weird, this was beyond.

“Um, Dad? I kinda have stuff to do?” Sure, it was the last day of school and all, but I did have stuff to do. Like clean the toilet or organize my post-its. Anything but sit here while my Dad ran a marathon in the living room.

Dad stopped the pacing and flopped back on the couch in a very  unlike dad manner. “Your Mom’s gone.”

Well, duh. “I know, she’s at work.”

“No, sweetie, she’s gone.”

I pop up out of my chair and stand in front of him. “She’s missing? I thought you said she was okay?

“She isn’t missing, Prue, she’s gone. To Italy.”

“For business.”

“For good.”

I didn’t know what to do with this information. Why in the Hell would my Mom go to Italy? And for good? What does that mean?

3 Responses to “Wednesday’s Words”

  1. Jody Bernard September 1, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Can’t wait to read the rest of it 🙂

  2. slpmartin September 1, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    Sound quite interesting…like the style of your writing…I’m also interested now why she’s in Italy. 😉 When the next chapter?

    • lavenderlines September 1, 2010 at 11:59 am #

      I’m interested to know why she’s in Italy also. LOL May have another snippet next week.

Leave a Reply

