Book Buying Ban in September

1 Sep

Now, before you all start laughing let me explain. I know that my last attempt at a book buying ban failed miserably. Every time I mention not buying books my mother rolls her eyes and the hubs smiles and says “Uh huh, Colleen,” like he’s talking to an unstable mental patient or Charles Manson.  But things are really, REALLY out of control. I have a huge back-log of review books that are currently stressing me out. And I’m pretty sure the review books mock  me at night, calling out “You’ll never get us all read in time Colleen. Publishers hate you Colleen. You’re on a bad blogger black list Colleen…..”

I counted my TBR books the other day. 402. FOUR HUNDRED AND TWO!!!!!!!!!!!! There are more TBR books in the house than read books. And because of the review book sitch, I haven’t read one of my own books in well over two months. I have to do something. So I’ve decided to join a support group of sorts.

See, the lovely Bella over at A Girl Reads a Book is holding a challenge for this month. No new books come into the house. At ALL. I’m joining up. For me, the TBR books aren’t stressing me out as much as the review books. But if I stop bringing other books into the house, the review books won’t be as stressfull and I’ll be able to get them read without feeling neglectful of my other books.

So, here’s what I won’t be doing in September:

1. Buying any new books into the house bought or gifted. (Pssst. Any you think I may want Amy, can you hold on to until October? :P)

2. No books borrowed from the library.

3. I won’t be entering any online contests for books.

4. I won’t be requesting any review books.

Now, with that being said, there are a couple of exceptions:

A. Any review books that I have already requested will be allowed into the house.

B. I will be doing the challenge until Sept. 25. Why? Because on Sept. 26th I’m heading to Word on the Street in Halifax. To expect me to go and not buy books would cruel and unusual punishment. And would most likely make my head explode.

So there you have it, folks. I am attempting yet another book buying ban. Since this time ’round there’s a slew of us, I’m hoping it’ll be easier than my last go at it. 🙂

11 Responses to “Book Buying Ban in September”

  1. amymckie September 1, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    Colleen, I can certainly wait until October – as long as you do the same for any you think I might like!!! 😉

    • lavenderlines September 1, 2010 at 10:26 am #

      Heh heh sounds like a plan!

  2. Bella September 1, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    GOOD LUCK! I know you can do it this time. Just avoid all those evil bookstores and you’ll be great 😀

  3. thekams September 1, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    I’m thinking we’ll be able to support each other in making this one work =) And I totally forgot about Word on the Street! May have to amend my BBBan rules 😀

    • lavenderlines September 1, 2010 at 10:26 am #

      Yeah WotS would be horrible without buying books. I imagine there’ll be signings and such.

  4. Hellraker September 1, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    Good gods…that is alot of to be read books.
    You are worse than I am…lol

    Enjoy the read. Still on my ebook phase.
    x

    • lavenderlines September 1, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

      Thanks. I don’t read a lot of ebooks, though I have ordered a Kindle. Hoping it doesn’t get here until October!

  5. slpmartin September 1, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    Okay who’s taking bets on this book ban? According to the Las Vegas crowd the odds aren’t good on this one either. 😉 Good Luck!

    • lavenderlines September 1, 2010 at 11:59 am #

      LOL Geez, thanks! 😛

  6. Carin B. September 1, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    I believe in you, Colleen! I think you can do it! I also included my review books on my TBR. Those are the ones I’m going to be working on in September. 🙂

    I am VERY sad that I didn’t know about this Word on the Street place when I went to NS last year!!! How could I have missed it? I know, I had brought all my own books on the trip. Sad! Guess I will have to go back just to see what this bookstore is like? How far is Halifax from you?

    Stay strong! You can do it. If not, I have a Book Buying Patch you can look at on my Day 1 Post. Click HERE to read/see it.

  7. Vasilly September 1, 2010 at 11:19 pm #

    Good luck! I’ve just joined but now I need to think of any rules for myself.

Leave a Reply

