In My Mailbox

29 Aug

This weekly meme is a great way to let other readers know what books they should be looking out for. In My Mailbox is hosted by the  The Story Siren.  You can find out more deets about it  here.

Last week my book buying ban kinda went straight to Hell. But, after counting and realize I have, oh, about 400 unread books in the house, I’m thinking I really need to try harder not to bring any books into the house. But, on the other hand, I have a small talking book on my shoulder mumbling, “What’s the damage? Who are you hurting by buying books?” So, we’ll. Now for this weeks books:

REVIEWED/GIFTED

Thankfully the number of review books that are coming into the house has slowed down. I find that most of my review books tend to arrive all at the same time, leaving me with so many books to review that I get a bit panicky. I am woefully behind on the review copies I have that have already been released and my September/October releases are begging to be read. I’ll pick away at them, and have decided not to accept anymore review copies until my stack is much, much lower.

Review
Rotten Apple by Rebecca Eckler(Random House Canada)
The Raven’s Gift by Don Rearden (Penguin Canada)

Gifted
Amy from Amy Reads, who is fast becoming my local bookish partner in crime, gifted me some ARCs that she has already finished.

The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney
Home is with Our Family by Joyce Hansen
Stranger Here Below by Joyce Hinnefeld
Nightshade by Andrea Cremer
Birth of a Killer by Darren Shan

BOUGHT

So, that big book sale at Indigo I went to last Saturday? I kinda went back again on Sunday. Only so the hubs could check it out, you know? And, lo and behold, any book over $10 was on for $2 and the rest were all $1 each. Seriously, what was I to do but buy some more books? I also picked up a book at the Mockingjay release party and received one through bookmooch.

Hinterland from James Clemens – This one came via bookmooch
Benny and Omar by Eoin Cofler
Ordinary Ghosts by Eireann Corrigan
Alex Detail’s Revolution by Darren Campo
Alien Taste by Wen Spencer
The Magical Monastery by Idries Shab
The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod: Eighth Grade Bites by Heather Brewer

And, of course, the big one:

8 Responses to “In My Mailbox”

  1. Life After Jane August 29, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    Mockingjay! Devoured that book in record time. Enjoy!

    • lavenderlines August 29, 2010 at 9:26 am #

      Oh, I’ve already finished Mockingjay. Started it as soon as I got it. LOL

  2. brandileigh2003 August 29, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    You have some great reading to look forward to! Here’s my IMMB

  3. Carrie at In the Hammock Blog August 29, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    rotten apple looks cute!! i hadn’t heard of it before. enjoy your books!

  4. Caitlin (ScarrletReader) August 29, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    I can’t wait to read Nightshade and The Mockingbirds!! Both look awesome! great books this week 🙂

  5. April (Good Books & Wine) August 29, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    MOCKINGJAY *dance dance dance* Great week in books! Also, bookish friends IRL is awesome 🙂

  6. Jenny (Wondrous Reads) August 29, 2010 at 6:43 pm #

    The Mockingbirds sounds amazing. I look forward to your review!

  7. mummazappa August 29, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    haha I can never stay away from a book sale – and a book buying ban? i’ve tried that a few times and the longest I’ve lasted was 3 weeks. then I caved and bought twice as many books as I would have if I’d just bought weekly books like usual 🙂 i really like your cover of mockinjay, the aussie one is so bright and orange, totally not my favourite colour (except for the popular penguins covers of course!)

Leave a Reply

