Review: Gimme A Call by Sarah Mlynowski

27 Aug

Random House Canada, 2010

A new life is just a phone call away!

Devi’s life isn’t turning out at all like she wanted. She wasted the past three years going out with Bryan—cute, adorable, break-your-heart Bryan. Devi let her friendships fade, blew off studying, didn’t join any clubs . . . and now that Bryan has broken up with her, she has nothing left.

Not even her stupid cell phone—she dropped it in the mall fountain. Now it only calls one number . . . hers. At age fourteen, three years ago!

Once Devi gets over the shock—and convinces her younger self that she isn’t some wacko—she realizes that she’s been given an awesome gift. She can tell herself all the right things to do . . . because she’s already done all the wrong ones! Who better to take advice from than your future self?

Except . . .what if getting what you think you want changes everything?

From Random House Canada website.

*Warning: overuse of the word “cool” ahead.*

Imagine being able to get a hold of your 14 year old self. How cool! I mean, the things I’d tell myself at that age! Let’s see, I’d start with “110 pounds is not fat”, “Ditch the dude but keep the music he introduced you to,” and “That scribbling you do all the time? For the love of God, keep at it!”  But enough about me. On to the book.

I first hear of Gimme A Call a while back on Twitter when the #gimmeacall hashtag hit. I think it was perhaps one of the coolest cases of viral marketing I have EVER seen. What started as a quiet way for the author to publicize her upcoming book on Twitter exploded into everyone and their dog tweeting what they’d tell their 14 year old self. Mucho cool and genius to boot. It made me curious about the book. Curious enough to request a review copy. So, yeah, kudos to Mlynowski.

This was just a cool book. Really. The idea was cool, the writing was cool, the ending was cool.

The book flips back and forth between now Devi and 14 year old Devi. It was cool to watch 14 year old Devi change something and then get to see how it affected today Devi. It was very butterfly affect-y. And of course the changes were rarely what today Devi was expecting.

I love when on the surface a YA book seems to be all about the fun and fluffy but underneath there is a layer of seriousness. Gimme A Call wasn’t just about watching the changes that happened in today Devi’s life and giggling about the snafus. It was also about choosing the right path, doing what’s best for you and how no matter how much you try to change, somethings are just inevitable. What was cool was that Mlynowski didn’t shove any big meaning in your face, but rather let it sneak up on you.

I think a lot of readers are going to enjoy Gimme A Call and find it as cool as I did.

Browse inside Gimme a Call.

It was very cool of Random House Canada to send me a review copy.

6 Responses to “Review: Gimme A Call by Sarah Mlynowski”

  1. Chrisbookarama August 27, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    Ugh, there are so many things I would say to my 14 yr old self.

    • lavenderlines August 27, 2010 at 10:49 am #

      I know, eh?

  2. amymckie August 27, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    I don’t remember myself at 14… so seriously have no idea what I’d tell myself. 😛 I’ve forgotten my whole adolescence, thank goodness. hah. Sounds like a fun book though… and yes, that is a lot of cool’s 🙂

    • lavenderlines August 27, 2010 at 11:15 am #

      I still feel like my 14 year old self most of the time, so it’s foremost in my memory. 😛

  3. Amanda August 27, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    I had a lot of fun reading this, which I got at BEA because of that twitter hashtag stuff. It was great.

  4. slpmartin August 27, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    Quite an interesting plot line…I’m afraid of what I’d say to myself though it I could. 😉

Leave a Reply

