Book purge 2010 update: an idea is born

27 Aug

So, as some of you may know, about a month or so ago I did a major book purge. In total I think that I decided about 200 books needed to find a new home. A bunch of them went to a really cool local second hand bookstore and the hubs and I exchanged them for more books (kinda counter-intuitive, I know, but work with me folks.) At that bookstore visit an idea took seed in the hubs’ brain. He didn’t share it with me right away, Β but later that day he said the magical words most bookworms would love to hear;

“Hey, wanna open a second hand book store?”

Of course my first response was “Bawha?” Β Then I giggled. A LOT.

So it looks like I’ll be opening a used book store next June. Wanna see where it’ll be?

Future home of the Book Nook

I know, I know. It doesn’t look like much now, and trust me, it isn’t. It needs to be re-shingled, re-floored and windowed. But the hubs thinks it’s all doable. Swears that it’s all doable. And he says even if we have to sell the books on tables outside the store, I’m opening up in the spring.

Aaaand, since I didn’t sell all of my purged books, I even have some stock!

Yes that's Twilight. Please don't judge.

Am I excited? You bet. Scared shitless? Goes without saying. But it’s a new adventure and I’m about due for another one.

15 Responses to “Book purge 2010 update: an idea is born”

  1. Cat August 27, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    So VERY cool! My former bookstore boss and I have this dream as well, but it’s not as easy setting up an English store in Quebec. =P I am so happy you guys will be doing this! Maybe I’ll send you some stock. πŸ˜‰

    • lavenderlines August 27, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

      On no, don’t you dare send me stock! Our tastes are so similar I’ll only end up keeping them for myself! LOL

  2. slpmartin August 27, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    What fun it will be for the two of you.

  3. nemogbr August 27, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    I like the idea and best of luck. It’s good to create a job for yourself that you would love.

    I work in the contruction industry and manage a small kitchen/bathroom showroom. I always liked the idea of opening a gym.

    My martial arts guru, just opened his first Filipino martial arts gym. My plan is once I have enough funds would be to offer to invest in his gym and be able to find a better location. Of course, it would mean sacrifices and most probably I would be living in the basement somewhere.

    Perhaps one career will be able to finance in creating the other….One can have dreams….lol

    Have fun in your endeavour,
    Obi

  4. Suzanne August 27, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    Congratulations! What an exciting venture. Now you have an excuse to buy more books — you’re going to need more inventory when you open πŸ™‚

  5. Melly August 27, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

    You know what goes good with books? Knitting!

  6. Mrs. Q: Book Addict August 27, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    I think that’s a great idea. Congratulations!

  7. amymckie August 27, 2010 at 10:24 pm #

    Congratulations! What a great idea! I’ll make someone drive me out so I can be a customer πŸ˜€

  8. thekams August 27, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    That sounds so amazing – I’ve always wanted to run a bookstore (used or otherwise). Good luck!! πŸ˜€

  9. steph August 29, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    Awesome, awesome, awesome! good for you for taking the plunge. DO IT!! And I hope we get to see progress pics of you guys fixing and setting up the whole venture.

    I’m so excited for you!! I love how spontaneous the idea is. Will you have a lemonade stand out there? πŸ™‚

  10. raidergirl3 August 29, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    Hi! I’m on PEI, and I’m wondering where approximately this will be? You know, close to Ch’town or Souris? *crosses fingers she says Ch’town and not Tignish*

    I didn’t know there were other bookbloggers on PEI. How are ya?

    • lavenderlines August 29, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

      Hey! Always nice to meet another Island blogger! Yeppers, the store will be in Hunter River. πŸ™‚

  11. Carin B. August 29, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    What a cute building for a used bookstore! I love the buildings in the Maritimes. I can’t wait to see what it looks like when you’ve fixed it up. πŸ™‚

  12. Pam August 30, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    Wow this sounds like such a cool idea!! And it justifies breaking the book ban, kinda. Hahaha. I’m in Ontario, so probably little chance of making it out to see it, but I do hope you keep us updated with pictures and the sort! Good luck to you!!

  13. bahnree September 1, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    That’s so cool! Good luck! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

