Happy blogiversary to me! (kinda)

26 Aug


So, today is and isn’t my blogiversary. Confused? Let me explain.

It is, indeed, the 1 year blogiversary for this blog, but not for me. Before I settled in at Lavender Lines, I had another blog. I’d link to that blog if I could remember the name. But I can’t. So just take my word on it. Aaaaand before I had the unnamed blog, I started off reviewing book for Edwards Magazine Bookclub (Go visit them, k? Tell them I sent you).

But a year ago today I started Lavender Lines with very little idea about what the Hell I was doing. I still wander around the blogosphere clueless for most of the time, but there have been a few things happen over the past year:

My voice
When I started this blog, I had no idea what my voice was and when I look back at those early reviews they really don’t sound like me. They’re good reviews and a bit more in depth and traditional than what I spew out these days, but they didn’t have a whole lot of personality to them. I was trying to write reviews like I thought they should be written. I have slowly come to realize I prefer writing about books like I talk about books. So there’s slang, sentence fragments, run-on sentences, some cursing and a whole Hell of a lot of OMG-ing.

Books
While I still review adult books, the majority of my book reading is now YA, MG and urban fantasy. Those are just the books that I prefer now. Once again I’ve stopped reviewing what I think I should review and prefer to review what I like. I still step outside of my comfort zone on a regular basis, but for the most part I stick to what I know I will dig.

Stats
I’m not going to bore you by listing a slew of stats or anything, but I will say this: I now get more hits per day than I used to get monthly. I still have small numbers compare to most, but hey, I’m just happy that anyone reads what I write.

Now for the party!
I hemmed and hawed for the past week about whether or not I wanted to do a giveaway, and finally decided late last night that I did. (The decision could have been a direct result of too much sinus medication.) I wanted to do something cool and related to my blogiversary, so here’s what I came up with: I am giving away one copy of a book that’s on my wish-list.

See, for birthdays, Christmas, anniversaries or any other gift-giving occasion, I always get books. So, for my blogiversary I wanted to share with you guys some of the books that I will be hoping to get this year for my birthday, anniversary and Christmas, all of which are right around the corner. These beauts are all either new or soon to be released YA books that make me drool every time I think about them. I will be sending one copy to someone anywhere in the word, as long as The Book Depository delivers to your country. Cool, eh? If it wasn’t my contest I’d totally enter. So, here’s the books:

Hex Hall

The Iron King

13 to Life

Infinite Days

Ash

Delirium

So, all you have to do to enter is leave me a comment by September 1st with your email addy, letting me know which book you want. Oh, and just to make things fun, and since it’s MY blogiversary, if you win, whichever book you choose, I’ll be ordering for myself, also. 🙂

29 Responses to “Happy blogiversary to me! (kinda)”

  1. amymckie August 26, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Happy Blogoversary!! Kind of 😀 Don’t enter me, once you cave and get it yourself I’ll just borrow it. LOL. Or the other way around.

    Seriously though, love your blog, and I think that is the biggest thing to learn in blogging – do what you like and let your personality shine through! Obviously we love your personality because we all visit 😉 lol

  2. Amanda Makepeace August 26, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    Happy Blogiversary! I think you should order Infinite Days. I’ve been hearing so many good things about this book.

  3. Chrisbookarama August 26, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    Finding your voice is definitely challenging. I still work on that everyday. Happy Blogiversary!

  4. Vasilly August 26, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    Happy blogiversary!

  5. Tundra Books August 26, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    Not entering the giveaway, just here to say Happy kind-of Blogoversary!! =)

  6. Bella August 26, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    I’m not entering. You know the book buying/acquiring ban and all 🙂 But I wanted to send over a VERY HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY!!!

    I’m so glad I found your blog. I’m always added more books to my TBR thanks to your awesome blog 🙂

  7. Laurie Lamb August 26, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    I’d like to read Hex Hall. Happy Blogiversary to you!

  8. Laura Best August 26, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    Happy blogiversary!!! Iron King sounds interesting.

  9. slpmartin August 26, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Happy Blogiversary! I have a long way to go before I get to one year. 🙂

  10. Jody Bernard August 26, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    How very generous of you my friend. Hex Hall sounds very interesting…all of my favourite supers are in this one. Congrats on your blogiversary.

  11. Kailana August 26, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    Happy Blogiversary! I wasn’t going to enter your giveaway, but I want to read The Iron King and my library doesn’t have it, so since I plan on buying it anyway I am going to attempt it this way.

    My reviews fluctuate. Sometimes I am really chatty, but other times I am professional-like. It just sort of depends on my mood, I guess, and my reaction to the book.

  12. Audrey August 26, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    Happy blogiversary! Just found your blog, looks really cool! I’ve been looking to read Hex Hall for a while…that’s my pick. 🙂

  13. thekams August 26, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    Happy Blogoversary!! =D
    I can’t wait to read Delirium, I’m so excited for it. I’ve read the rest, and they’re all amazing.
    xkamsx[@]gmail.com

  14. steph August 26, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    Congrats on celebrating your blogoversary! I hope we’ll see many more years yet. And…how many more animals? 🙂

    As for my pick, Delirium interests me the most. I’m liking these sci-fi-ish, dystopian-ish novels…

  15. Cathy Marie Buchanan August 26, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    Congrats. You’ve accomplished a lot in a year. You only miss my bookversary by one day. If I win, pick one you think I’d like.

    —–
    http://cathymariebuchanan.com/
    http://www.facebook.com/CathyMarieBuchanan

  16. Jen August 26, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    Happy anniversary!
    I would love Delirium, it looks fantastic!
    jenarnold6155 (at) gmail.com

  17. Amanda August 27, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    Okay originally I came just to say happy blogoversary. Because, you know, I’m not acquiring books right now. I don’t even WANT to acquire books, outside the rare exceptions like Mockingjay, Behemoth, and Delirium…and there you go, there you see, the last book on your list is one I actually made an exception for. Hrm… 😀 So besides wishing you a happy 1-year, I’ll go ahead and enter for that one. My email should come to you through wordpress, right? I entered it in the information above. If not, you know how to find me on twitter. 😀

  18. Christine August 27, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    Thanks for the shout-out (re: Edwards Magazine…www.edwardsmagazine.com).

    Happy Blog-o-versary!

  19. Beth August 27, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    Happy Blogaversary! 🙂

    Ash was really good, didn’t think I’d like it but couldn’t put it down!

    They all look like great books, but Infinite Days and 13 to Life are the ones I’m most looking forward to reading!

  20. Melly August 27, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    Happy Blogiversary! If I win I want Delirium.

  21. Linna @ 21 Pages August 27, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    Happy happy blogiversary! These are all books on my wish list, too. 🙂 I have to say the one I want to read the most would be Hex Hall.

    Thanks for the giveaway, and hopefully you’ll have many more blogiversaries to come!

    linna.21pages@gmail.com

  22. Jenny N August 28, 2010 at 2:13 am #

    Happy Blogoversary! Hope you have another great year of blogging. For the party, I would pick Delirum, though its a long wait till its release.

  23. Kylie August 28, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    Congrats!
    I only discorvered this blog a month or so ago, but I’m a fan.
    Delirium please (:

  24. Throuthehaze August 29, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    Happy Blogiversary! I think that Infinite Days sounds pretty interesting.
    throuthehaze at gmail dot com

  25. jpetroroy August 30, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    Happy Blogiversary! I’d love a copy of Delirium. I just finished Before I Fall, and it was one of my favorites of the year!

  26. Pam August 30, 2010 at 11:42 pm #

    Happy Blogiversary!! I’ve been following your blog for a little while now (maybe a few months) and have really been enjoying your entries! You’ve introduced me to books I would not usually pick up, let alone read. So I thank you for that!

    All the books on your Wish-List seem really amazing! I don’t want to have to choose one of them… the ones that jump out more for me are 13 to Life, Delirium, and Hex Hall.

    Congrats and I hope you write many more blog posts, because we all love to read them!

    • Pam August 30, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

      Forgot my email!!!! soccer_pam (at) hotmail (dot) com

  27. bahnree September 1, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    Congrats (sorta) on your 1-year blogiversary! ^_^
    Not sure if it’s too late to enter the giveaway…but I’m dying to read Hex Hall!

  28. bahnree September 1, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    Oh, and email address is shough at uoregon dot edu 😛

Leave a Reply

