Review: You Wish by Mandy Hubbarb

25 Aug

Penguin Canada, 2010

Kayla McHenry’s sweet sixteen sucks! Her dad left, her grades dropped, and her BFF is dating the boy Kayla’s secretly loved for years. Blowing out her candles, Kayla thinks: I wish my birthday wishes actually came true. Because they never freakin’ do.

Kayla wakes the next day to a life-sized, bright pink My Little Pony outside her window. Then a year’s supply of gumballs arrives. A boy named Ken with a disturbing resemblance to the doll of the same name stalks her. As the ghosts of Kayla’s wishes-past appear, they take her on a wild ride . . . but they MUST STOP. Because when she was fifteen? She wished Ben Mackenzie would kiss her. And Ben is her best friend’s boyfriend.

From Penguin Canada website.

Okay as I read You Wish I couldn’t help but try to think back on the birthday wishes I made before I turned 16. Now, my early teen years were a while ago, so the memories are a bit fuzzy. But, like Kayla, I know that somewhere along the line my wishes must have had to do with kissing a boy. And for me I’m pretty sure a year supply of Sour Patch Kids would have come a’knocking.

This was just a cute book. I usually HATE describing anything as cute, but it is what it is.

I felt bad for Kayla as her birthday wishes descended on her, but I couldn’t help laughing at the whole thing, too. I mean, a pink My Little Pony? I had one of those. I still have one of those . But in no way would I have ever wanted the thing life-sized and following me around. Being a teen is embarrassing enough without a Ken Doll thinking your Barbie, and some of the scenes were definitely cringe-worthy. You know when you see someone else do something so awkward you get embarrassed for them? You Wish was full of them.

You Wish wasn’t just a cutsey book, though. There were other things going on, deeper things, teen-aged things, that I think the author handled terrifically. I won’t say anymore, because I don’t want to give anything away, but I wanted to make sure that you guys didn’t walk away from the review thinking this book was pure fluff.

I liked this book.It had a super balance between light and semi-serious. When I was finished, I was left with a smile on my face. Which is exactly what I wished for.

Thanks to Penguin Canada for the review copy.

3 Responses to “Review: You Wish by Mandy Hubbarb”

  1. Sheryl MacTavish August 25, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    Ohh, this does sound cute! ;o) I would love to borrow it sometime!

  2. amymckie August 25, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    This does sound pretty hilarious. I don’t remember any of my wishes, so would be quite a shock for me.

  3. brandileigh2003 October 17, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    This is a cute and quick read. Thanks for the review.
    Brandi from Blkosiner’s Book Blog

Leave a Reply

