Review: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

25 Aug

Scholastic Canada, 2010

Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she’s still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what’s worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss’s family, not her friends, not the people of District 12. Powerful and haunting, this thrilling final installment of Suzanne Collins’s groundbreaking The Hunger Games trilogy promises to be one of the most talked about books of the year.

From Indigo.ca website.

*SPOILER FREE REVIEW*

“No way!”

“What?!?”

“Oh my God!”

“Nooo!”

“*+@#*”

These are all things that I said out loud as I was reading Mockingjay. Yes, folks, I was talking to myself, the book, the cats as I read the final installment of The Hunger Games Trilogy. Now, this is not something I normally do by any means. I was just so shocked by elements of this book and couldn’t believe Collins had gone where she had gone that I needed to vocalize that disbelief. I mean, there are parts of the book where Collins blew my mind. Freaking amazing.

Besides talking out loud, I laughed, shook my head, got angry and cried. Seriously, when I finished Mockingjay I felt like a needed a nap to recuperate from the emotional teeter-tooter I had been on.

The writing as usual was amazing and from the very first line I was completely drawn into the story. I didn’t whip through Mockingjay in one sitting, though, but that had nothing to do with the book and more to do with me. I didn’t want it to end, so I kept getting up and doing other things. But once I hit those last 100 pages? I was glued to my sit and my eyes never left the pages. And as soon as I was finished I wanted to start back over again at the beginning.

I think that fans of The Hunger Games and Catching Fire are going to be pretty happy with how Collins ties up the trilogy. And if you haven’t read these books yet, you really should. It’s not often that I think books live up to their hype, but these ones certainly do.

I did pick up a copy at the midnight release party, but that’s going to go to a friend. Thanks so much to Scholastic Canada for further feeding my Hunger Games addiction.

8 Responses to “Review: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins”

  1. amymckie August 25, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    So glad you enjoyed it 😀

    • lavenderlines August 25, 2010 at 9:51 am #

      So hard to review without giving anything away! We need to meet for coffee soon to discuss in detail. 🙂

      • amymckie August 25, 2010 at 9:52 am #

        Agreed! Any time before next week Friday works for me, as that is when I’ll be taking off again!

  2. Kathleen August 25, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    Yay for spoiler free reviews!

    I’ve been going a bit crazy because I can’t take time off to read it until I turn my own ms in at the end of the week. Hello torture.

    • lavenderlines August 25, 2010 at 9:59 am #

      Boo for not being able to read it, but yay for turning in your ms!!!!!

  3. Amanda August 25, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    This one had me laughing and crying. Completely exceeded my expectations!

    • lavenderlines August 25, 2010 at 9:59 am #

      I know, eh? I was in a major stupor once I finished. Now I want EVERYONE I know to read it. LOL

  4. Bookjourney August 25, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    I didnt read your post as I am still getting into my book and dont want to see even a whisper of what is going on yet. 😀 I wanted to let you know I have a linky set up today for people to link up any Mockingjay giveaways or posts. Feel free to do so if you would like. I am going to read them all after my review is done 😀

Leave a Reply

