Books, cupcakes and a girl on fire

24 Aug

So, last night our local Indigo had a Mockingjay (just a moment, I feel the need to squeeee!!!! Okay, I’m done) party. Of course, I went. My partner in crime was Amy from Amy Reads. We hit the bookstore at around 10:30 pm, and as soon as the doors opened and I heard the excited yells and saw the furious running around I remembered something very important: superfandom freaks me out. Don’t ask me why, I have no idea. I blame it on a midnight showing of Star Wars and a choreographed lightsaber fight before the movie started. Or maybe it was the midnight release of The Deathly Hallows and the 200 Hermiones scampering around. Either way, groups of over-excited fans dressed in costumes wig me out. And while there were thankfully no fans that had doused themselves in flames, there were costumes.  And weird ones.

There were also training stations set up where you could learn archery or knot-tying. Oh, and the ever important art of decorating a cupcake.

*PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCMENT*

Dear book stores: if you are going to hold a midnight release party for a major YA book and have games than include a rousing round of chase each other and try to grab the clothespin from each other’s shirt, you may not want to serve the kids cupcakes where they can add their own tower of icing. This will result in a group sugar high and frantic Hunger Games role playing, no matter how much the manager screams into her megaphone.

At first I was a bit freaked out (okay majorly freaked out) and I desperately wished I had colored my gray streaked hair as I was obviously the oldest one there. Except for that one father who was also running around. He kinda creeped me out. But once I had a cupcake and was told that, why yes, the cash registers were opened, I calmed down. Amy and I walked around (other wise known as hiding in the YA stacks) and perused the books. We each bought one other book besides Mockingjay, which is pretty damn impressive for two bookworms hopped up on sugared icing.

Finally midnight came and we were able to get our copies!!! We were first in line and then were told that the winner of a contest was going to get her book first. I thought about throat punching the winner so we could be first, but she was only 13. And besides, her mom looked like she could take me out.

So finally at about 3 seconds past midnight Amy and I had our precious copies of Mockingjay.

I came home and read until the sugar rush wore off. Then I was back up this morning reading again.

I’m not done, but pretty darn close. I’ll be posting a kinda review later this week, with no spoilers in it at all. Promises.

And I’m thinking that maybe for the next big YA release I’ll just pre-order from Amazon. 😛

9 Responses to “Books, cupcakes and a girl on fire”

  1. Nikki-ann August 24, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    After all the hype I’ve heard about this book, I’m taking it that last night was totally worth it?! We never get stuff like that happen around here!

    • lavenderlines August 24, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

      It was an interesting experience, for sure! And the book is def. worth it!

  2. slpmartin August 24, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    I’m one of those folks who hates to wait in any line…sure hope it was worth it. 😉

    • lavenderlines August 24, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

      Oh, yeah it was so worth it!

  3. amymckie August 24, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    What? Pre-order and miss all the fun?! 😉 They were a little crazy, but at least we had that column to hide behind. And then those stacks to hide in 😀

  4. steph August 24, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    Cupcakes? Superfans? C’mon now! What’s not to love?!

    PS. This post was laugh-out-loud hilarious. I think you should go to *more* of these events and write about them.

    • lavenderlines August 24, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

      Ah, thanks! I was shooting for funny, so that’s good. 🙂

  5. thekams August 24, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    Haha, sounds like it was an experience! I took my younger cousins to the HP7 midnight release; I grabbed a book to read and parked myself in line while they went and joined in on the activities. I was in good company with all the other adults there reserving spots =D

  6. Lani August 25, 2010 at 1:21 am #

    I’m looking forward to your review! I can’t wait to get to discuss it with everyone. 🙂 BTW I’m very happy to be one of your Twitter BFF. 🙂

Leave a Reply

