Music Monday: A slight rant

23 Aug

Okay, do you want to know what really ticks me off? The stupid way that the musical powers-that-be decide what is and isn’t appropriate to play on radio. Sure, I understand that cursing is out, and I’ll give them their stupid ban on most drug references but beyond that? It boggles my mind.

For example, how in the world can it be okay to play those dumb-ass misogynistic sexual songs of Nickelback yet edit out a verse in Live’s Lightning Crashes because it talks about birth? I mean really? Massacre a beautiful song to fit some stupid rule but play women-hating songs in their full rednecked glory.

Here are a few Nickelback gems that play on our radio stations:

Hey, hey
Well, she ain’t no Cinderella when she’s gettin’ undressed
‘Cause she rocks it like the naughty wicked witch of the west
Far too pretty to be givin’ it cheap
That’s why she’s makin’ six figures workin’ three days a week

Shakin’ Hands

Got to meet the hottie with the million dollar body
They say it’s over budget, but you’d pay her just to touch it, come on!
Needs to hit the big screen and shoot a little love scene
If Hollywood had called her she’d be gone before you holler, come on!

Dirty little lady with the pretty pink thong
Every sugar daddy hitting on her all night long
Doesn’t care about the money, she could be with anybody
Ain’t it funny how the honey wanted you all along!

(You naughty thing)
You’re ripping up the dance floor honey
(You naughty woman)
You shake your ass around for everyone
(You’re such a mover)
I love the way you dance with anybody
(The way you swing)
And tease them all by sucking on your thumb

Somethin’ in your mouth

I like your pants around your feet
And I like the dirt that’s on your knees
And I like the way you still say please
While you’re looking up at me
You’re like my favorite damn disease

Figures you out

Great lyrics, eh? Super imagery and wow, you can tell how much they respect woman! (Excuse me while I scratch my eyes out from reading them.)

So, these verses all make it onto mainstream radio. And now for the verse that doesn’t:

Lightning crashes, a new mother dies
Her placenta falls to the floor
The Angel opens her eyes
The confusion sets in
Before the doctor can even close the door

Why, oh why is it okay to describe a blow job in a song but not mention placenta? This pisses me off beyond. Lightning Crashes is one of the most beautiful and heart-wrenching songs I have ever heard and you need that first verse to completely understand the song. And super message that’s being sent out: it’s okay to objectify women in songs but not talk about birth. GAH!!!!!!!

Okay I am off my soapbox for now. And I’ll leave you with the video for Lightning Crashes. The imagery in this video kills me every time I watch. Just the scene with the books on the floor alone gives me goosebumps.

If you want to see one of the Nickelback videos, YouTube them. I need a three day shower just from posting their lyrics.

4 Responses to “Music Monday: A slight rant”

  1. slpmartin August 23, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    Why anyone would want to screw with such a powerful and beautiful song is beyong me….and you point about what they let on the air is right on target….thanks.

  2. amymckie August 23, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    Ick, I know right!

  3. Cat August 23, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    This just makes me laugh because I have had a very similar discussion with my husband as we flip the stations as soon as we hear any Nickelback. I hate their songs (and music) so much (so does my husband). Also funny, every time Lightning Crashes had come on the radio since it was first released I have always said “Hey, it’s the placenta song!” hahaha It doesn’t get edited out on some of the stations here in Montreal. I think it depends on who is running the station at the time?

    • lavenderlines August 23, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

      Not sure why it’s edited here. Even the kinda cool rock stations edits it.

      On a side note I’ve seen Nickelback in concert and this fact embarrasses me more than the fact that I’ve seen New Kids on the Block in concert. 😛

Leave a Reply

