In My Mailbox

22 Aug

This weekly meme is a great way to let other readers know what books they should be looking out for. In My Mailbox is hosted by the  The Story Siren.  You can find out more deets about it  here.

Only a few books this week. (Yay!) Actually it was only two until I went to preorder Mockingjay and discovered the bookstore was having a MASSIVE tent sale. Sale books for another 50% off. I mean, I picked up 3 books for 4 bucks. Not too shabby, eh?

Won/Gifted

City of Glass and Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare -So freaking excited to win this Twitter contest from Simon Pulse Canada. Started Clockwork Angel last night and hoping to get a good chunk of it read today.

Evil in Return by Elana Forbes – I was The House of Anansi Press‘ reader of the month a while back and as a belated thank-you they sent me a book!

Bought


Wow, my book buying ban is going splendid! 😛

The First Time I Got Paid for It edited by Peter Lefcourt and Laura J. Shapiro- This non-fiction collection of Hollywood writers chatting about the first time they got paid should be interesting along with inspirational. And if I don’t enjoy it, it was only a dollar.

Thou Shalt Not Dump the Skater Dude and Other Commandments I have Broken by Rosemary Graham – I loved the title of this YA and hey, it was a buck!

Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning – Beautiful hard copy for $2.50. I didn’t realize this was the second in the series. I’m usually anal about reading series books in order, but this time I may just go wild.

Cycler by Lauren McLaughlin – I kept seeing this one popping up on blogs lately and the premise sounded pretty unique. It was also a sale book ($4.50) so I grabbed it.

13 Responses to “In My Mailbox”

  1. amymckie August 22, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    Some interesting books there, great finds!

  2. Cat August 22, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    Your book buying ban has a lot of loop holes. 😉

    • lavenderlines August 22, 2010 at 10:47 am #

      As should any good book buying ban! LOL

  3. julie August 22, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    I want the Cassandra Clare books! I hope you enjoy them:)

  4. laughingstars66 August 22, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    The title of Thou Shalt Not Dump the Skater Dude is hard to resist. 🙂

  5. Jenny N August 22, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Those are some great deals. Clockwork Angel is so good I know you’ll enjoy it. Happy reading!

  6. Julia August 22, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    “Thou Shalt Not Dump the Skater Dude and Other Commandments I have Broken” sure sounds an interesting read ha ha 🙂 Enjoy!

  7. E.J. Stevens August 22, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    I have City of Glass in my mailbox this week too! 🙂 Great mailbox! My IMM Birthday Edition is here.

    xx,
    E.J
    From the Shadows

  8. Mrs. Q: Book Addict August 22, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    Clockwork Angel is on my wishlist! Enjoy all your reads. I have City of Bones but I haven’t read it yet.

  9. slpmartin August 23, 2010 at 12:37 am #

    Thanks for the suggestions…and the post.

  10. thekams August 23, 2010 at 7:24 am #

    Congrats again on Clockwork Angel, that’s so amazing!!

  11. Bella August 23, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    Some great finds there. I love the reduced tables at Indigo, they sure don’t help book buying bans 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In My Mailbox 29/08/10 « Amy Reads - August 29, 2010

    […] my bed. My roommate had picked it up at a big sale at our local Indigo store. (You know, that sale Colleen talked about not being able to resist heh.) I had to use the picture of it where the cat walked through because, hey, the book is Cat […]

Leave a Reply

