And it continues……

21 Aug

Isn’t she gorgeous? I mean, seriously, this is one cute cat. What’s her name? Oh, well, I have no idea because she’s NOT MY FREAKING CAT!!!!!!

She just showed up this afternoon in the middle of my flower garden. Sure, I live in the country and people have outdoor cats and sometimes those outdoor cats wander, but really? Who am I kidding? I tried to fool the read-a-thon gods and failed miserably.

I thought if I called my reading spurt “reading week” I could by-pass the curse of the read-a-thon and not end up with any new animals. I was dumb. Misguided. Naive. And now I have a new cat.

What’s that, you say? Surely the cat will go back home? Well, right now she’s lying down next to the chicken coop and she looks quite comfy. Earlier she was sleeping on the doorstep but decided to change venues. In between snoozing she’s following the hubs around the yard, wrapping herself around his legs. So sure, she’s going to leave.

Fat friggin’ chance.

14 Responses to “And it continues……”

  1. Bella August 21, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    She’s adorable! I read that to my hubby and he said “she’s there for life”! What a cutie.

    • lavenderlines August 21, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

      Oh, she is adorable, for sure. But I kinda need a break from the influx of animals! LOL

  2. Jennifer @ Mrs. Q: Book Addict August 21, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    I’m horrible with wanting to buy and keep every cute animal. I have a dog and cat, and hope it stays that way for now. It breaks my heart when animals have no homes…

    • lavenderlines August 21, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

      We have a houseful and they seem to keep finding us!

    • steph August 22, 2010 at 9:54 am #

      Me too, Jen!

  3. Amy August 21, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    Hehe, you have the worst luck with reading things 🙂

    • lavenderlines August 21, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

      I know! So no more read-a-thons, reading weeks, reading challenges……. 😛

  4. Cat August 21, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

    hahahahah!! Ok, so it’s funny, but it totally is. And that cat is gorgeous.

    I’m curious – do animals stop by for rescuing when you’re NOT trying to participate in a readathon?

    • lavenderlines August 21, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

      Nope. So far each and every animal that’s come through here since May has been during a read-a-thon.

  5. Dawn - She Is Too Fond of Books August 21, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Clearly she needs a literary name! What were you reading when she came to visit … um, stay?

    • lavenderlines August 22, 2010 at 8:50 am #

      Cassandra Clare’s Clockwork Orange. Only about 10 pages in, though. I’ll see if I can find a suitable name.

  6. steph August 22, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    Oh my God, this is too weird! And totally awesome!

    There must be something about you, about your home—just good vibes all around. Hmmm. Maybe *I’ll* show up at your door one day!

    (PS. That’s not meant to be creepy…)

    • lavenderlines August 22, 2010 at 10:01 am #

      I’m wondering if we aren’t getting a reputation as an animal sanctuary and people aren’t dropping off unwanted pets. And if you ever becoe a stray animal, you’re more than welcomed Steph. LOL

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Twitted by Lavender_Lines - August 21, 2010

    […] This post was Twitted by Lavender_Lines […]

Leave a Reply

