Reading Week

16 Aug

Ah, who here remembers reading week? A break from school to get caught up on school. Brilliant idea, really. Did anyone actually ever read during reading week? I seem to remember sleeping a lot. And when I did wake up long enough to read anything it was always books that had nothing to do with school.

Which gave me my latest brain fart. I need to have a reading week! See, I’m kinda drowning in amazing books that need to be reviewed. And lately reading seems to be pretty low on my priority list. So, I decided to give myself a reading week. Starting today I will not poke around online, watch TV or do any extra work around the house. All my time will be reading time. I’m not calling this a read-a-thon, out of fear of what animal will end up landing on my doorstep. (Confused? Read all about it here.) God knows I don’t need a repeat of the last few read-a-thons.

I won’t be able to get through all my review books this week, but I think that I can make a serious dent in them.

Here are the books I’ll be working my way through during reading week:

Ambitious? Yes. Crazy? Perhaps. Doable? We shall see.

This is gonna be fun. 😀

10 Responses to “Reading Week”

  1. Vasilly August 16, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    Happy reading week! I’ve had a few of those only to have something else come up (like sleep)! Newspaper Blackout is a fun book and it’s a pretty quick read. I’ll be cheering you on!

    • lavenderlines August 16, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

      Thanks. I will be sleeping, but no more than usual. 😛

  2. Ronnica August 16, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Great idea! Reading hasn’t been a priority of mine lately, either, but I’m giving up TV during the week for the Game On! Diet, so I’ll have more time to read. I WANT to read more, but I just have to realign my priorities.

    We didn’t have reading week in college, but we fought to try to get one. I have no idea why…it’s not like we really would have used it productively!

    • lavenderlines August 16, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

      Our reading week was pleasantly rolled into our Spring break. Nice, eh?
      Yeah, I’m trying to get my priorities straight, too. It can be hard.

  3. Amanda @ one more page August 16, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    Great books and great challenge – good luck!

    I’m really looking forward to reading The Red Queen. Hope you enjoy it!

  4. amymckie August 16, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    Some great books there! Best of luck with your Reading Week!

  5. thekams August 16, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    Reading week was technically Spring Break. So I never actually did school work (unless I had a major essay do the week after). Sleep and non-school reading was pretty much it for me, too =D

    Good luck on your reading week!

    • lavenderlines August 16, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

      Yeah even though reading week was Spring break I always remember wanting to get caught up but never doing it.

  6. Justine August 17, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    Oh wow those are amazing books! You do need to get through them, aha! I actually haven’t read Clockwork Angel (it was the one that mostly popped up hehe) … but since it’s by Cassandra Clare, it’s a must-read. I have Before I Fall on my TBR list and it’s on the very very top. I must get through the pile too. I’m in desperate need of a reading week.

  7. bahnree August 18, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

    Wow, good luck! 😀 Sounds like fun.

    But you’re right, I barely ever do homework during reading week. WHO DOES THAT? 😀

Leave a Reply

