BTT: Evolution of reading

12 Aug

So, I discovered the Booking Through Thursday meme over at Should Be Reading. It seemed like fun so I thought I’d add my two cents.

This week’s question is about reading preferences and if what you read has changed over the years.

Have your reading choices changed over the years? Or pretty much stayed the same? (And yes, from childhood to adulthood we usually read different things, but some people stick to basically the same kind of book their entire lives, so…)

I was just talking about this with the hubs yesterday. My reading choices have changed so much over the last ten years that you would think I had multiple personalities.

When the hubs and I met, I had just finished a BA in sociology and I was a bit obsessed with true crime books, particularly those about serial killers.  It was pretty much the only genre I read, besides murder mysteries.  Then for some reason I went in the polar opposite direction and devoured every Amy Tan or Maeve Binchy book I could get my hands one.  I think this was my brains way of saying it needed a serious break from all the killing I was reading about. But the break didn’t last long. Because then came the years of the plague.

I went on a medical mystery binge for a few years, particularly those books that dealt with some kind of world changing plague (think Stephen King’s The Stand). I had no idea what I was reading was a sub-genre of dystopia, but I loved it. Still do, in fact. While I don’t read medical mysteries anymore, any type of post-apocalyptic literature usually hooks me.

Back in, oh, 2003, I was at Indigo shopping for the hubs’ birthday. I was browsing the sales table when I came across Stolen by Kelley Armstrong. I remember reading the blurb and thinking, “Huh, this might be kinda cool.” And that, my friends, was my introduction to urban fantasy and it has been my favorite genre ever since.

“But Colleen”, you’re saying, “you review so much YA!” That I do. Truth be told I just started reading YA a few years ago. Literally. I didn’t even read YA when I was one, preferring Stephen King and John Saul. But I won a copy of Wicked Lovely through HarperCollins Canada a few years ago and that was it for me. I was hooked.

It’s funny when I think about this. My current taste in books is nothing like it was 10 years ago.

4 Responses to “BTT: Evolution of reading”

  1. amymckie August 12, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    What? You don’t have multiple personalities? heh jk. I know what you mean though. I often go through such weird reading phases and it’s like I’ll read all YA, then all women’s issues non-fiction, then all international fiction, very odd how it happens. Might be multiple personalities, I haven’t fully diagnosed myself yet 😉

    Interesting phases you’ve gone through!

  2. thekams August 12, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    I hear you on the post-apocalyptic! I love the end of the world, for some reason. Never been through a true crime phase myself; very interesting 🙂

    • lavenderlines August 12, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

      The true crime reading spree was very odd, considering I’m a fairly anxious person.

  3. gautami tripathy August 13, 2010 at 5:22 am #

    Except for paranormal stuff (which I can’t get into even after trying few times), I have always read pretty much everything. My reading depends a lot on my book but it is always evolving…

    Here is my BTT: Evolution post!

Leave a Reply

