Book purge meets book buying ban

10 Aug

One would thing that a big ole book purge and a ban on bringing new books into the house would go hand in hand right? Well, in my case they do, but not in the way that you probably think. Unless you know me really well. Then the following little story shouldn’t come as a big surprise.

The big book purge of two weeks ago resulted in a huge-ass pile of hardcover and paperback books tottering in the corner of my office. Every day I was greeted by this stack, quite often with a cat or two on it. I figured it was just a matter of time before one of the cats brought the whole pile down in a huge and scary crash. It was time to really get rid of the books.

I was going to just cart them all off to the local library, but the hubs said that we should check out a second hand book store in a close by community. We’ve driven by before but have never stopped in. Yesterday was they day.

See, the baby bunny we rescued, Rue, passed away early Monday morning. The hubs knew I was devastated so he suggested a trip to the bookstore, book buying ban be damned. I figured I could buy a book or two since I was so upset. So we went to the little bookstore, which is one room attached to the owner’s house.

It was wonderful. It was amazing. It was totally unexpected. I giggled and gleefully looked around at the well stocked shelves. I immediately zoned in on the first 6 of Rachel Caine’s Weather Warden series. The books were being sold as a bundle for – wait for it – twenty-three bucks! One book quickly turned into a huge stack of books. The books were cheap, but still. Then, inspiration struck: didn’t I have unwanted paperbacks and hardcovers coming out my wazoo?

So we went home, gathered most of the books and headed back. Julie, the owner, went through my boxes and decided to take about half. We opted into in store credit and – drum roll please – ended up with a hundred and thirty five dollars!!!!!

Between the hubs and I, we ended up spending a hundred of our credit.  Here’s a pic of my haul:

So, yeah, I totally blew my whole no new books until January thing. But you know what? I kinda don’t care. Yesterday was one of those days. And sometimes you need new books to cheer you up.

9 Responses to “Book purge meets book buying ban”

  1. Amanda Makepeace August 10, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    I totally agree. Books definitely bring me happiness and sometimes you have treat yourself. I love secondhand bookstores!

    • lavenderlines August 10, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

      This one was amazing. Awesome fantasy and sci-fi section.

  2. amymckie August 10, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    You have it right, sometimes new books are necessary! And WOW that is a huge credit for half of your books! Congratulations!!

  3. Suzanne August 10, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

    Sounds like great therapy for an otherwise sad day.

    • lavenderlines August 11, 2010 at 9:38 am #

      Yeppers. And some great finds.

  4. Christine August 11, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    Books are really a low-danger kind of therapy. Really though, you could be turning to alcohol or cigarettes…so yeah, kudos. Some days we just need a pick-me-up and the rules can go hide in the corner.

    I’ll have to check this place out. It sounds amazing!

    • lavenderlines August 11, 2010 at 9:37 am #

      I think you’d like it. Very nice Can lit section.

  5. Amanda August 14, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    Sometimes that’s just what you need to do, right? And at least it was store credit. I see you have some of the Ember books in there! I liked that series, though the first book remains my favorite.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In My Mailbox « Lavender Lines - August 15, 2010

    […] Yeah, yeah, I know. What about that serious book buying ban, right? Well, last Monday sucked the worse and I needed a bit of a pick me […]

Leave a Reply

