In My Mailbox

8 Aug

This weekly meme is a great way to let other readers know what books they should be looking out for. In My Mailbox is hosted by the  The Story Siren.  You can find out more deets about it  here.

So, that little amendment I had on my moratorium on book acquisition? The one where I said books order/requested/won before don’t count? Well, it seems that the majority of the books I was waiting on arrive this past week.  I also ended up buying two books post moratorium but since they were purchased at a literary reading so the authors could sign them, they don’t count. (Hey, my moratorium, my rules!)

I know I normally blurb about the book, but because of the number that came in this week and the fact that I woke up late and have a crapload to do, I’m skipping that part this time round.

So here’s the slew of books that came for my enjoyment:

BOUGHT

Maggie Stiefvater signed collection from Fountain Bookstore
Ballad
Lament
Shiver
Linger


The Devouring by Simon Holt
Kitty Goes to War by Carrie Vaughn
Heave by Christy Ann Conlin (signed)
The Hidden Life of Humans by Erika Ritter (signed)
Inside Out Girl by Tish Cohen – gifted from a friend

REVIEW

Candlewick Press carepackage
Another Faust by Daniel And Dina Nayer
Another Pan by Daniel And Dina Nayer
Girl Parts by John M. Cusick
Stork by Wendy Delsol
Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness
Butterfly by Sonya Hartnett
The 10 pm Question by Kate De Goldi
My Worst Best Friend by Dyan Sheldon

Penguin Canada
You Wish by Mandy Hubbard

Random House Canada
Waking the Witch by Kelley Armstrong
Gimme a Call by Sarah Mlynowski

From author
Pour Rich by Jean Blasiar

11 Responses to “In My Mailbox”

  1. Sarah August 8, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    Awesome books this week! I love Maggie Stiefvater and have none of her books so I’m so jealous of that collection.

    • lavenderlines August 8, 2010 at 10:24 am #

      I actually received ARCs of Shiver and Linger, but loved them so much I wanted signed, finished copies. I’m like that with some authors. 🙂

  2. Cat August 8, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    The Hidden Life of Humans is the book that changed my life! (you can read about that here!

    It was also a great book to read. 😉

    • lavenderlines August 8, 2010 at 10:23 am #

      Ah, what a great story!!!!

      I met the author and got her to sign the book at a literary reading this past week.

  3. amymckie August 8, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    I would agree that signings don’t count 😉 Moratoriums always need some wiggle room like that!

    And ooohhh I would love to borrow Girl Parts and Monsters of Men at some point!

    • lavenderlines August 8, 2010 at 10:20 am #

      I read Girl Parts last night. Not at all what I was expecting, but I loved it!

      ‘Course you can borrow them! And any others if you want. :0)

      • amymckie August 8, 2010 at 10:26 am #

        Wait… a literary signing? On PEI??

      • lavenderlines August 8, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

        Yeppers and – wait for it – there were THREE authors!!!!

  4. geeekygirl August 8, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    Looks like you made out pretty good this week, what a stack! I’m about to read my first Kelley Armstrong book.

  5. steph August 8, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    Hold on. You got books from Random? And Penguin? Tell me how!!

  6. brandileigh2003 August 9, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    Looks like some great reading! Here’s what I got

Leave a Reply

