Book in a month challenge: week one-ish

7 Aug

The muse was with me this week, folks. I wrote. It was perfectection. In fact I’m done! Yep, I wrote my novel in a week. In fact, I wrote TWO novels this week. I was on fire. I –

Yeah, I’m totally lying. I didn’t write a single frigging word.  It was too hot. I was too busy. The cat ate my laptop. Shall I go on with the excuses? Cuz I have them a’plenty.  Deep down I know that that’s all they are: excuses. But at the time that I think them, then utter them, they are 100% truths.

Here’s the real reason why I haven’t started this challenge: I’m scared shitless. See, I haven’t really written in ages. What if I suck? What if I can’t write anymore. What -gasp! – if all my creative juices have dried up? So it’s easier not to try to write. That way I’ll never know.  And I can continue  in life tra-la-la-ing and saying that I write.

I know this view point is dumb. I’ve told myself that numerous time. But it works. It protects my very low and very fragile ego.

But if I’m not writing, I’m not writing, you know? And I honestly think I’m more centered when I write. And practice makes perfect, so if I want to be a good, no a great writer I kinda have to write.

So, I guess this is my long-winded way of saying the weather is cooler and I’m not as busy this week. And since the cat yacked up the laptop it’s time I got back to it.

6 Responses to “Book in a month challenge: week one-ish”

  1. Amanda August 7, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    I completely failed. I did so good for the first two days, but then stress and possible moving and blah blah blah just got in the way. 😦 Maybe I should have done this in September instead of August…

    • lavenderlines August 7, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

      Stress can totally derail the best laid plans. If you can, why don’t you do it in September?

  2. amymckie August 7, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    Hey you wrote this post, that counts as writing right? And the writing was great, so therefore your writing is great! So you can do it 😀

    • lavenderlines August 7, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

      Ah, see, that’s why I heart u! 🙂

  3. Rachelle Hayes August 7, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    It’s okay, we all have are BLAH moments. In fact, my whole summer’s been a big blob of BLAH.

    Just stopped by to say thanks again for the Promise contest!

  4. steph August 8, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    Those doubts you have? I have the very same ones! Top them with no ideas and an extremely overwhelmed mind and other hindrances, and you have no attempts at creative writing.

    😦

    I’ve been lamenting this for about ten years now.

Leave a Reply

