Review: Death’s Excellent Vacation various authors

6 Aug

Penguin Canada, 2010

New York Times bestselling authors Charlaine Harris, Katie MacAlister, Jeaniene Frost-plus Lilith Saintcrow, Jeff Abbott, and more-send postcards from the edge of the paranormal world to fans who devoured Wolfsbane and Mistletoe andMany Bloody Returns.

With an all-new Sookie Stackhouse story and twelve other original tales, editors Charlaine Harris and Toni L. P. Kelner bring together a stellar collection of tour guides who offer vacations that are frightening, funny, and touching for the fanged, the furry, the demonic, and the grotesque. Learn why it really can be an endless summer-for immortals.

From Penguin Canada’s website.

When I was offered the chance to read and review this collection of short stories, I jumped at the chance. I am a huge fan of Charlaine Harris’ Southern Vampire series so I was primarily looking forward to reading her story.  But as I worked my way through the other stories I got really, really excited. This was some great stuff! And, it was mostly new to me authors. That’s when it hit me: Death’s Excellent Vacation was almost like a sampler book.  Instead of spending lots of money buying each author’s book, I had the perfect opportunity to read a short story, decide if I like it and then buy their books if I wanted.

While I had heard of most of the authors in this collection, I hadn’t really read anything by them. With so many great paranormal writers out there, it can be hard keeping up. As I read through the book I was tickled pink to find authors that I really wanted to read more from, like Jeaniene Frost and Lilith St. Crow.

The stories were so varied that sometimes I needed to take a few minutes in between to shift gears. The great thing about the variety, though, is that there is bound to be something in it for everyone.

I always find it hard to review books where there’s more than one author. Do I review each individual story or the volume as a whole? I guess a way to kinda meet in the middle is to say that while some stories appealed more to me than others (I’m not a fan of Katie MacAlister or L.A. Banks) the whole volume was a satisfying read and perfect for summer.

Thanks to Penguin Canada for helping me find some great authors with this review copy.

Leave a Reply

