Fountain bookstore, my not so secret author crush and a renewed love of indie bookstores

6 Aug

Anyone who follows me on Twitter or reads my blog knows that I have, well, a kinda author’s crush on Maggie Stiefvater. I don’t stalk her or anything, or have a shrine devoted to her, but I love her Wolves of Mercy Falls series and will yammer on about them to anyone who will listen.

When Linger, the second book in the series hit the shelves, there was a lot of Twitter talk about Fountain bookstore having signed doodled copies available. Of course my ears instantly perked up and my brain started humming “I wants, I wants, I wants.” I hopped on their website and discovered that they have signed copies of ALL of Maggie’s books. I gleefully tittered and then began to order them.  But I couldn’t. Because I lived in Canada.

Now, I run into this problem frequently when shopping on line and usually I go “Oh well” and move on. But not this time. I really wanted those signed books. So I emailed Fountain bookstore and then also tweeted them. Pretty soon after that I received an email that they were working on the issue of shipping to Canada and they’d get back to me. While that gave me a glimmer of hope, I figured it would be quite some time before I heard back from them. Well, it was only a week before the next email, asking me to either email my phone number or give Heather a call.

I immediately called Heather, excited but still thinking that I was going to get a very polite, “So sorry but no can do.” What I did get, though was the offer to take my order over the phone and ship the books to me.

Well, the books came today and let me tell you there was much excitement. And giddiness. And hugging of the books.

I am just one customer and if Fountain bookstore had decided not to try to get the books to me, they wouldn’t have gone bankrupt. I think that’s why I had pretty much convinced myself it wasn’t going to happen. But see, I had forgotten one important piece of information: Fountain bookstore is an indie. And indie bookstores are a completely different kind of beast from the big box book stores.

We only have one indie bookstore here, the  Bookmark, and I am kinda embarrassed to admit I don’t know the last time I was in it. With Walmart selling their books at 30% off and Indigo constantly  having sales, money factors in when I’m buying books. But I think that’s going to change. I’m on a major book aquisition ban right now, but I am planning on giving books and gift certificates for Christmas. This year I think I’ll head to The Bookmark. As an avid book buyer and book blogger I think it’s time I threw my support, and money, their way.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I think I’m gonna go hug some books a bit more.

7 Responses to “Fountain bookstore, my not so secret author crush and a renewed love of indie bookstores”

  1. Kathleen August 6, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    Awww. This post made me so happy.

  2. amymckie August 6, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    How exciting! I hate to say it but, as much as I try to go to The Bookmark and give them my business, prices are quite high, and their only discount program is to get 10% off of your 10th book… which isn’t bad, but it’s hard to compete. Also, I’ve been finding lately that their selection of books has been atrocious – I used to always find gems, especially on the random non-fiction side, but not any more. Very sad.

  3. Kristi Tuck Austin August 6, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    This is a great story, and a perfect example of why I love indies. I live in Richmond, the base of Fountain Bookstore, and I’m excited to live in a town with many independent bookstores, so I’m starting a blog that aims to connect Richmond readers with our local indies and fiction authors. Thanks for this post. I’m glad you got the books.

  4. steph August 6, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

    This post made me totally happy too! One, because you got your coveted books (and I understand, I follow her too!), and two, because of your profession of love for indies. Sigh. Agreed! 🙂

  5. Suzanne August 7, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    How wonderful! This is why independent bookstores deserve our business; yes the books cost a little bit more but the service received is unparalleled.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Fountain bookstore, my not so secret author crush and a renewed love of indie bookstores « Lavender Lines -- Topsy.com - August 6, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Workman Publishing, Sarah Rettger, Kathleen Peacock, FountainBkstore, FountainBkstore and others. FountainBkstore said: Indies, this will make you 🙂 RT @Lavender_Lines: Where @FountainBkstore helps me with my @mstiefvater obsession. http://wp.me/pAWn2-ln […]

  2. Fountain bookstore, my not so secret author crush and a renewed love of indie bookstores (via Lavender Lines) « Until Another Writing Day… - August 6, 2010

    […] Anyone who follows me on Twitter or reads my blog knows that I have, well, a kinda author's crush on Maggie Stiefvater. I don't stalk her or anything, or have a shrine devoted to her, but I love her Wolves of Mercy Falls series and will yammer on about them to anyone who will listen. When Linger, the second book in the series hit the shelves, there was a lot of Twitter talk about Fountain bookstore having signed doodled copies available. Of cours … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

