Word on the Street: Atlantic Publishers “Pitch the Publisher”

5 Aug

Okay, so, this year I am totally going to Word on the Street in Halifax. I had planned on going last year, but it was smack dab in the middle of us trying to buy our first house, so the money for the trip ended up going into the down payment piggy bank.

What is Word on the Street, you ask? Well it is a day that is chock full of wonderful book goodness, from author readings to a huge book market. Oh, and a Pitch the Publisher event.

Yeppers folks,  you can sign up and pitch a book idea to different Atlantic publishers. Wow, my hands shook as I typed that.  Imagine getting the opportunity to talk directly with publishers about your book!  I’ve sent an email asking for more information and I know I will definitely be signing up for a slot.

But I have a bit of a quandary: I have two pitches that I have to choose from. I was hoping maybe you guys could give me a bit of guidance.

1. Adult urban fantasy tentatively title Supernormal:
Erin Matthews finds out on her champagne birthday that she has been chosen (destined, if you will) to lead a group of supernaturals to defeat Satan. There’s a slight problem, though: Erin is as normal as they come. Without any superpower, can this snarky copy-editor save the world and herself?

2. YA paranormal untitled:
Eliza is the It girl at her high school: rich, beautiful and mean as a snake. But now that she can communicate with animals can she hold on to her Queen Bee status? Eliza will have to work extra hard to hold on to her reign, especially since the school’s Loser club is black-mailing her into helping finding a missing kid.

Both books are humorous (I hope) and I am torn between the two.

12 Responses to “Word on the Street: Atlantic Publishers “Pitch the Publisher””

  1. Amanda Makepeace August 5, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

    Crap! I LOVE the sound of both books. Hmm I’m going to go for #1, Supernormal. Your blurb sounds like nothing I’ve ever read!

    My fingers are going to be crossed for you!!

    • lavenderlines August 5, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

      Thanks! Supernormal is in third edits. Kinda in love with it. 🙂

  2. Diane August 5, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    I would research the publishers you are pitching to and what they would like. Most Atlantic Publishers (maybe all?) don’t publish fantasy but lots do YA novels, even if they are a bit paranormal.

    • lavenderlines August 5, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

      Great advice, thanks! I was planning on doing that as soon as they announce who the publishers will be. 🙂 If none of them are big on urban fantasy or paranormal, I have others in the works. LOL

  3. amymckie August 5, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    I hadn’t heard of this! I really, really, really, really hope I’m not travelling that weekend so that I can head over to it too 🙂 Though I wouldn’t pitch a book. Way outside of my skill set! Good luck though, both ideas sound fun.

    • lavenderlines August 5, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

      Ooh, if you’re not travelling that week end we should totally road trip together!

      • amymckie August 5, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

        Definitely!

  4. steph August 5, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    Hmmm. I like Diane’s advice. In the end, you will likely have better luck pitching the most viable one.

    Bonne chance! Both of them sound promising.

    • lavenderlines August 5, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

      Thanks. Yeah I’m going to wait and see which publishers are taking part for sure.

  5. thekams August 5, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    This is in Halifax?? How did I not know this is going on! I’ll definitely be there, it sounds awesome.

    As for the book pitches, they both sound great. I’d wait and see who the publishers are going to be and then decide on the best option, but I think you’d do great with either one =)

    • lavenderlines August 5, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

      Yeppers, it’s in Halifax. We should meet up for coffee & some book talk. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s official ….. « Lavender Lines - September 13, 2010

    […] …. I am signed up for Pitch the Publisher for Word on the Street! I mentioned this event a while ago, when I asked for help in deciding what to pitch. I got some great adviced, the most common being […]

Leave a Reply

