My new moratorium on book acquisitions (formally known as the book buying ban)

3 Aug

The  Issue
So the whole book buying ban? Yeah, I kinda sucked at it this time around. Last night I went to Indigo to pick up a gift card and ended up leaving with two new books and sans said gift card. Also, I am starting to drown in review books and have once again started requesting library copies. So, I’m not really getting my already owned books read. Which means that I need to come up with a new plan.

The Plan
No books of ANY KIND shall come into the house. No review books, library books, swaps or purchases. Nada. Zip. Zilch. I really want to spend the rest of the year reading from my TBR bookshelves (of which there are currently 6). I also want to recapture my love of reading and have it seem less like something I have to do. I want to read to read, not read to work through a pile of books. Reading is starting to feel like a chore, and that hurts my heart.

The amendment
Now, with that being said, I am waiting on several review copies, bookstore orders and swaps, so those books will still be coming into the house. But from today until January, I will not be acquiring any more books, no matter how much I want or think I need them.

The Outcome
Who knows what the outcome will be? I certainty don’t. But I am hoping to get to read a crap load of the wonderful books I own and also cure myself of thinking that I need to buy and collect every book that I think sounds good.

18 Responses to “My new moratorium on book acquisitions (formally known as the book buying ban)”

  1. Bella August 3, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    Your so strong. A lot tougher than me. I can’t even contemplate a book buying ban!

    • lavenderlines August 3, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

      I have to. Right now books = stress, and that’s never a good thing.

  2. Suzanne August 3, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    I agree with Bella — you are a stronger person than I.
    I really should contemplate my own moratorium, but my birthday is coming up and I know what I will be getting…
    Good luck!

    • lavenderlines August 3, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

      Thanks! My birthday is in December so I think I’m okay. 😛

  3. amymckie August 3, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    Wow. That is a tough policy. I could never stick to something like that! So I’m guessing the books I’ve already offered to you count as prior commitments? 😉

    • lavenderlines August 3, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

      Yes, your books count as my already swapped books. So does the Tish Cohen my friend gave me tonight. 😛

  4. Cat @ Beyond Books August 3, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    The ONLY reason a book buying ban has finally worked for me is because I am down to one income right now and even when the unemployment money comes “rolling” in I still will be fighting to get bills paid and then figure out where we’re going to get food. Sigh.

    Every other time I’ve tried to cut down on my buying it’s never worked. I have about 89 books on my TBR right now and I am good for reading and I have decided to try my crappy library more if I really need something “new” to read.

    Good luck with your ban! I hope it works out. Just think about trying to save a new animal if you feel the urge to get a book. ha!

    • lavenderlines August 3, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

      I’ve never tried just a totally, completely 100% book ban, so I have no idea how it will work. But since everyone is rooting for me, I guess it’ll HAVE to work. LOL

  5. Jenny N August 3, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    Wish you luck, don’t think I could be so tough if I tried.

  6. thekams August 3, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    Oh wow, you’re definitely stronger than I am. My last ban was only supposed to be for three weeks…I think I lasted three days 😛 We need a book buyers anonymous, I think. Good luck!

    • lavenderlines August 4, 2010 at 6:31 am #

      “Hello, my name is Colleen and I’m a Bookaholic.”

  7. Steph August 4, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    Holy moly, is that pic of your shelves??

    I’ve said the same thing: I can’t buy until I read what I already have. It’s never worked.

    • lavenderlines August 4, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

      Nope, that’s just a stock photo. My TBR shelf is actually 6 bookcases. :0o

  8. bahnree August 4, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    GO YOU! 😀 I need to impose a ban too…but it’s haaarrd. So I’ll be cheering you on!

  9. Meg August 5, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    You are a brave, brave soul. I’m also about to collapse under the combined weight of my TBR stacks, but I’ve done little to prevent that! I will say that I’ve stopped accepting review books just to be “nice,” knowing that if I really don’t think I’m going to enjoy something there’s no point in my bringing a copy of it into the house… but that’s about the only progress I’ve made regarding lightening my bookcase. Good luck!

    • lavenderlines August 5, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

      Thanks! I kinda bought two books tonight, but it was a literary reading, so the books don’t count. (I am so bad!)

  10. Jessi Elliott August 6, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    I put myself on a book buying (only) ban in order to get me to read the books I already have. However, I simply just started getting them from the library. However, I broke it yesterday because I had to have Linger, an the library didn’t have it!!! I’m back on the wagon again, though.

    Soon I may have to up the ante because I seriously do want to read more of the books I actually own.

    • lavenderlines August 6, 2010 at 11:44 am #

      OMG of COURSE you had to buy Linger! Maggie’s books so don’t count when on a book buying ban. *stares at four brand new signed books by Maggie*

Leave a Reply

