In my mailbox

1 Aug

This weekly meme is a great way to let other readers know what books they should be looking out for. In My Mailbox is hosted by the  The Story Siren.  You can find out more deets about it  here.

So, this week saw a hodge-podge of bookish goodies arriving on my doorsteps. There were books, pins and bookmarks, along with other fun stuff. Here’s the break-down.

REVIEW

Second Story Press
The Second Trial by Rosemarie Boll – Being a girl, I haven’t read a lot of YA that is geared towards boy. This makes me kinda sad. This boy-ish book should help with that.

Home Free by Sharon Jennings – I’m from PEI. This book’s blurb mentions Anne Shirley several times. Need I say more???

Penguin Canada

This is my first review book from Penguin Canada and I just wanted to say a quick howdy and thanks for helping me with my book addiction. I love when new enablers come aboard. 😀

Death’s Excellent Vacation Charlaine Harris, editor – I asked for this primarily because it has a new Sookie short story in it. I’m half way through and have already discovered three new to me authors that I love.

WON

The gals over at Got YA held a cool Canada day contest and I won! I was so happy to receive some cool CanCon tunes in the form of Molly Johnson’s wonderfully jazzy CD and a best of The Tragically Hip compilation. A teeny, tiny Robert Munsch book and some pins added to the swag awesomeness.

Amy over at A Simple Love of Reading held a contest last week for bookmarks and I was one of the lucky winners. Isn’t it purdy? Oh, and the back is signed by the author!

Pretty cool week, if’n I say so myself.

4 Responses to “In my mailbox”

  1. Alexia561 August 1, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    Congratulations on your wins! Love bookmarks, and that white wolf bookmark is gorgeous! Happy reading!

  2. brandileigh2003 August 1, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    Awesomeness!! Here is my IMMB

  3. Sab H. August 1, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    Great Books!! Enjoy 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention In my mailbox « Lavender Lines -- Topsy.com - August 1, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Bibliophile Canada, Colleen McKie. Colleen McKie said: This week's In my mailbox finally posted: http://wp.me/pAWn2-ka […]

Leave a Reply

