And the read-a-thon curse continues

31 Jul

So, as you may know from yesterday’s post, I found a bunny under my car, further proving that I am cursed when it comes to read-a-thons. Well, there’s is actually a second part to the story.

See, our neighbors across the street raise bunnies so we naturally thought that maybe the bunny was an escapee. We trekked over to ask. The hubs went into the barn to look at the rabbits to do a little comparison. Bad move. In the barn he discovered a teeny, tiny two week old baby rabbit that was being, well, chewed on. He was obviously the runt of the litter and someone had chomped off his ear.

We came home and hubby was obviously upset over this little fella. So…… yeah, we went back and got him. Upon further examination I noticed he was missing several toes and had bite marks all over him.  We tried bottle feeding him, then gave him some hay which he happily munched on. Since I named the first bunny Katniss, I decided the baby would be Rue.

So, you’d think that would be enough to convince me that I am cursed, right? Think again. The hubs just got off the phone with a good rehabber friend of ours. Looks like tomorrow morning I’ll be on my way to pick up an injured fledgling blue-jay. Yeppers, you heard right.

So, I think I may have to retire from read-a-thons. Because at this rate, by the time Dewey’s roles around in October, I’ll need to find room for an elephant.

6 Responses to “And the read-a-thon curse continues”

  1. Pam July 31, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    Awww I wish I was finding little animals to help here and there! It’s really important how you help all of these animals because they are unable to help themselves. You should be proud! 🙂

    • lavenderlines July 31, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

      Ah, thanks! Helping animals is partly why we bought this house. 🙂

  2. Wallace July 31, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    Poor little bunny… good thing it found YOU, someone who will actually care for it. Love the names, by the way! And don’t worry, as long as you read or have read something by the end of the weekend, you’ve participated. This is a no pressure Read-a-Thon. 🙂

    • lavenderlines July 31, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

      I am getting SOME reading done, just not as much as I had planned.

  3. amymckie August 1, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Lol. An elephant might take up a bit too much space yet, might have to avoid read-a-thons for now!

  4. bahnree August 2, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    Wow, go you! I’m sure the rabbits and bluejay are very happy, even if you’re books aren’t. 🙂

Leave a Reply

