The read-a-thon curse

30 Jul

Do you believe in fate? Kismet? Serendipity? I don’t. Or at least I didn’t. But I am starting to believe that I have been fated to never take part in a read-a-thon again. And I strongly believe I have been cursed.

Here’s the deal: I sign up for a read-a-thon. I gather my books to read, pick-out a comfy spot and assemble my snacks. Then, I wait in anticipation for the magical hour where I will begin reading straight for 24 or 48 hours.  In the past year I have signed up for three read-a-thons. I have completed one. The other two were waylaid not by work, nor sickness. There was no big family emergency. What there was, however were animals in need of my  help.

The first botched read-a-thon effort saw two baby crows arriving. While they were pretty self-sufficient, I still had to keep an eye on them, making sure that they were eating. I also had to make sure that they didn’t get injured in the aviary and learned to fly. It took up time. Reading time. I vowed that the next read-a-thon would be mine.

It finally came. And so did a pair of baby raccoons that required bottle feeding every hour along with blanket changes. One was quite sickly, so we had to keep a close eye on her. No reading done.

Then today came. Another read-a-thon! I was excited and Hell bent to read as much as I could over the next 48 hours. Since Spring was over and the crows and raccoons were gone, I knew that the odds of being interrupted by baby animals was slim. I was set to go. Then I went to get the mail and discovered this under my car:

Yes, folks, that’s right: on the morning of the big week-end read-a-thon I found a female lionhead rabbit under my car. I’ve named her Katniss and she is currently living in our bedroom until we go out and buy her a hutch. I’m sure I’ll get some reading done this week end, but not as much as I wanted to. Afterall, I have to help Katniss adjust to her new life here in the madhouse.

So, you see, I’m cursed. Doomed to love books and never be able to fully take part in a read-a-thon. It’s just my lot in life. Sigh.

She is awfully cute, though, isn’t she?

7 Responses to “The read-a-thon curse”

  1. amymckie July 30, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    You do seem to be cursed, but she is awful cute. I guess if you run out of room for pets you should just not sign up for another read-a-thon so that you avoid it. haha

    • lavenderlines July 30, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

      Hah hah *rolls eyes*

      There’s another one next week-end. I shudder to think what will land on our doorstep if I sign up. 😛

  2. Aths July 30, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    Well, I’m in your same boat for a different reason. I have had the chance to take part in 3 read-a-thons so far, but none took off. Work, or family, or some silly reason.

  3. steph July 31, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    This is hilarious! It’s no curse, this is a very cool occurrence. Like magic. It’s awesome! It’s…uncanny. And she is adorable. Even though we’re in town here, we’re on a quiet street near a field and forest. There are rabbits running rampant.

    You’ve totally endeared me to you further by being such an animal lover.

    • lavenderlines July 31, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

      Ah, thanks! And for further endearment I believe I’m on my way to pick up an injured bluejay. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. And the read-a-thon curse continues « Lavender Lines - July 31, 2010

    […] as you may know from yesterday’s post, I found a bunny under my car, further proving that I am cursed when it comes to read-a-thons. […]

  2. Reading Week « Lavender Lines - August 16, 2010

    […] out of fear of what animal will end up landing on my doorstep. (Confused? Read all about it here.) God knows I don’t need a repeat of the last few […]

Leave a Reply

