Review: Fat Vampire: A Never Coming of Age Story by Adam Rex

27 Jul

HarperCollins Canada, 2010

Doug Lee is undead quite by accident—attacked by a desperate vampire, he finds himself cursed with being fat and fifteen forever. When he has no luck finding some goth chick with a vampire fetish, he resorts to sucking the blood of cows under cover of the night. But it’s just not the same.

Then he meets the new Indian exchange student and falls for her—hard. Yeah, he wants to bite her, but he also wants to prove himself to her. But like the laws of life, love, and high school, the laws of vampire existence are complicated—it’s not as easy as studying Dracula. Especially when the star of Vampire Hunters is hot on your trail in an attempt to boost ratings. . . .

From HarperCollins Canada website.

So, it’s no secret that most YA vampire books are geared towards masses of swooning teenage girls. The vampires are male, drop-dead gorgeous and very broody.  Yeah, well, this is definitely not one of those books. And for that reason alone I think it should be read. Doug is in no way a mysterious, annoyingly sparkly vamp: he’s over-weight, social awkward and, well, a bit of a dick.

It’s a true testament to Rex’ writing that I really enjoyed this book but didn’t like the main character a whole lot. Doug is socially awkward, a true geek who isn’t quite sure how to talk to people, especially girls. Big whoop. Hell, I married one of those. But he is also rude, obnoxious, self-absorbed and kinda douchey. From what I remember he’s a typical fifteen year old boy. Once I drew from my vast memory bank and realized just what most teenage boys are like, I found I didn’t dislike Doug as much. And then I thanked the gods I wasn’t a teenage girl.

This book is FUNNY. There were times I was reading it when I’m sure the hubs thought I was having a nervous break-down. At the beginning of the book, there is talk of a vampire movie that is on every Saturday. To rid the town of vampires the heroes had to kill the antique shop owner who was the leader. The two actors were named Cody. (Anyone around in the 80s should know where I’m going with this). Once I clued into the joke, I laughed my ass off. There were other funny pop-culture references throughout the book, including a show based on hunting vampires and a trip to Comic-Con. (Yeah, reading about Comic-con right now totally upped my envy-meter).

I did find at times that the tone was a bit uneven. This may have been because the book is told from three different view points PLUS there are scenes describing the Vampire Hunter show (I found these annoying and distracting).  But even with the unevenness in tone, something that can be a deal-breaker for me when it comes to books, I enjoyed Fat Vampire.

If you are getting tired of all the cliche YA vampire books out there, I  think you should really give Fat Vampire a read.  It was wonderfully weird and so, so awkward at times, making it a fun read.

Browse inside Fat Vampire.

Thanks to HarperCollins Canada for the review copy.

4 Responses to “Review: Fat Vampire: A Never Coming of Age Story by Adam Rex”

  1. Bella July 27, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    I simply can’t wait for this one. It looks awesome 🙂

  2. Cat @ Beyond Books July 27, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    This has really interested me! I don’t like vampires but I love the idea of someone turning into one and not having the perfect life. 😉 I’m going to check it out if I see it in the store.

  3. amymckie July 28, 2010 at 6:05 am #

    Sounds interesting… I’m going toward undecided if I want to read it! I have to admit that I tend to not enjoy the male geared paranormal YA books as much.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Review: Fat Vampire: A Never Coming of Age Story by Adam Rex « Lavender Lines -- Topsy.com - July 27, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kathleen Peacock, Colleen McKie. Colleen McKie said: Review: Fat Vampire. A wonderfully weird read. http://wp.me/pAWn2-iX […]

Leave a Reply

