Giving up the series

26 Jul

We all have certain series that we love, don’t we? You know, when you have the release date of the next book circled on your calender or sticky-noted to the wall of your office. You don’t mind spending the extra cash on the hard covered copies because there is no way in Hell you’ll wait until the paper pack comes out. But what happens when one of your favorite series loses its oomph? Do you continue reading because you’ve invested so much time into these characters and story-lines? Or, do you give up the series and move on to greener pastures?

In the past I would hold on to a series for dear life. So what if the writing wasn’t as good and I really wasn’t all that interested in the characters anymore. First I’d start off by waiting the extra year or so until the books came out in paper back, but I’d still read them as soon as I bought them. But there are so many great books out there, you know? So maybe they’d find their way to the middle of my TBR pile. And then the bottom. And then all of a sudden I’d realize that there were two more books out in the series and I was now three books behind.

In the past two months my attitude towards book series has changed and I have given up several for different reasons. It was hard at first: some of these series I had been reading for almost a decade, others had been newer favorites of mine and one in particular was life-changing as far as my writing goes. But now that I’ve made the decision to stop reading them I feel lighter, freer. I knew each break-up was coming, it was only a matter of time.

House of Night SeriesPC Cast – I had a conversation about these books recently with another blogger and I realized that I just didn’t like them a whole heck of a lot but still read them. Well, no more. I’m not a huge fan of the writing and find most of the characters annoying or stereo-typed.

Shopaholic series – Sophie Kinsella – The first book was great, but after that I realized that it was a whole lot of the same.

Scarpetta series -Patricia Cornwell – A few books back there was a major change in the POV (from first person to third person various) and it just didn’t work for me.

Hollows Novels – Kim Harrison – This was one of my first urban fantasy series. I loved the first three books, but I’m a bit of a prude and found that there was a bit too much sex in the series for me.

Undead series Maryjanice Davidson – This is the one that pained me the most. I loved her books and they helped me to realize what genre I wanted to write in(humorous urban fantasy). But I find that the writing has gone down-hill and the tone has moved from campy to over the top cheesey. With each book she seemed to up the raunchy sex scenes and dropped more F-bombs, which just isn’t my cup of tea.

Do you have any favorite series that you’ve had to give up on?

12 Responses to “Giving up the series”

  1. Amanda July 26, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    I only very rarely read more than the first book in a series. There are some I loved, like Harry Potter or any of the Scott Westerfeld series. But for the most part, I don’t often move on. I only read the first in the Gregor and Bone series, though I might go back one day. I read the first two in the Immortals series, don’t know if I’ll go back. Read the first three in the Wicked Lovely series but they eventually got so whiny I gave up on them. Never bothered to read past the first in many, many others. The book has to be REALLY compelling for me to want to treat the book not as a standalone.

    • lavenderlines July 26, 2010 at 9:58 am #

      Interesting! While I did give up on those series, I have several others that are must-reads, especially if each book ends in a cliff-hanger. Although, I guess I could always ask around to find out how a series ends.

  2. amymckie July 26, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    Heh. I (as you know) keep up with the House of Night series, but I haven’t read any of the others. I think I will avoid them now though. For now I will continue with House of Night though I do share most of the same annoyances with you! I am hoping to drop and NOT read the next Need/Captivate book and Wings/Spells book though. And especially not the next Vampire Diaries book. I don’t know if I can avoid them though!! (Of course none were ever a favorite.)

    • lavenderlines July 26, 2010 at 11:21 am #

      Do you have Tempted? I can’t remember. I won’t be reading it so it’s yours if you want it.

      Oh you should totally read the first 4 Undead books. Wicked funny.

      • amymckie July 26, 2010 at 11:30 am #

        I do have it 🙂 Also, I’m scared to read them even if they are awesome because I will keep forcing myself to read the new books even if they are terrible!

      • lavenderlines July 26, 2010 at 11:33 am #

        LMAO

  3. Kylie July 26, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    Thank you!
    That is exactly how I felt about the HON series.
    I couldn’t stand the characters.
    Very very very stereo-typed and annoying.
    Don’t even get me started on how much Zoey annoyed me.

    I’ve read until Tempted, and I will probably read Burned soon. My solution when I don’t love a series anymore, stop buying the books and just borrow them from the library or a friend.

    • lavenderlines July 26, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

      Have Tempted here, but won’t be reading it.

  4. Suzanne July 26, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    I’m with you on the Shopaholic series; I loved the first two, but after that they were disappointing. I noticed that there is a new one out this summer. (btw if you haven’t read Sophie Kinsella’s novel Twenties Girl I highly recommend it)

    • lavenderlines July 26, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

      I haven’t read anything else by her. I’ll keep an eye out for Twenties Girl. 🙂

  5. Cat @ Beyond Books July 26, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    House of Night – OH MY GOSH! I was buying them when they were still in trade format even though each book was really just a retelling of the previous because I had HOPE for the series. I gave up the second they switched to hard cover for book 5. The series is NOT worth the money they are charging. Maybe one day in the future if I seem them in a library I’ll check out what happens next but so far I am ok without knowing. Still alive here. Yep, I am!

    Scarpetta series – The POV writing style change was too much for me. This series went from awesome to sounding like it was written by a 3rd grader. I gave up and was so sad about that. (Also the author got all crazy and that turned me off, too!)

    The Hollows – Kim Harrison is like my goddess. 🙂 And it’s funny you thought the first books had too much sex in them, I don’t recall sex at all and I won’t even look at the undergarment sections of a department store catalogue! I might have found a prudish kindred spirit in you. 😉 Harrison is the only author I Auto-Buy in hard cover. Still is. (Not her YA series though.)

    • lavenderlines July 26, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

      Yeah, I have Tempted in hard cover but didn’t read it. I was a major non-dating dork in high school so Zoey’s whole “Oh, poo, ALL the boys like me” attitude teed me off.

      When I think about it, I’m not sure it was sex as much as Rachel maybe having a thing for her female vampire room-mate that turned me off. I don’t have a problem with homosexuality in books at all, but in this case it seemed contrived. Or all in my imagination. Who knows? 😛

      Hey, do you have Black Magic Sanction? I have a copy here.

Leave a Reply

