In My Mailbox

25 Jul

This weekly meme is a great way to let other readers know what books they should be looking out for. In My Mailbox is hosted by the  The Story Siren.  You can find out more deets about it  here.

This was a slow week for me, book-wise, which is actually a good thing. I’ve got a ton of review books to read!

REVIEW
Simon and Schuster Canada
The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory – I found myself pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed The White Queen. I have a feeling that this one is going to be just as yummy! On a side note, I won a book plate signed by Philippa last year and since my copy of The White Queen was an Arc and this is a hard cover, looks like the bookplate has a new home.

10 Responses to “In My Mailbox”

  1. Missie July 25, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    I haven’t heard of this book. Thanks for putting it on my radar. I hope you enjoy!

    FYI, I’m hosting my first giveaway. Check it out if you have a chance:
    The The New Me Giveaway!

    Happy Reading,
    The Unread Reader

  2. amymckie July 25, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Wow, congratulations on only receiving one book!! That is great for the shelves 🙂

    • lavenderlines July 25, 2010 at 10:18 am #

      Heh, yeah very good for the shelves. Although I seemed to have won a few books in the last two weeks, so next week may be busier. 😛

  3. Cat July 25, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    Argh! I forgot how wordpress.com links the tags to other blogs as well! You have me curious about this book and what it’s like and I want to read your review of The White Queen – is this historical? Fantasy? I must know! Going to search your blog now!

    • lavenderlines July 25, 2010 at 10:54 am #

      I don’t think I ever review The White Queen (bad, bad blogger!). It’s historical fiction with, of course, a touch of romance. I know zip about English history (or history in general, for that matter) so I have no frigging idea how accurate the historical parts are. I just know it was an engaging book with romance, deceit, weird royal family connections and fighting.

      • Cat July 25, 2010 at 11:12 am #

        I might have to see if my crappy library has these… or others by the author. I am intrigued!

      • lavenderlines July 25, 2010 at 11:14 am #

        She also wrote The Other Boleyn girl.

  4. Kelli July 25, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    Hi! I’ve had The White Queen on my TBR list for a while…I hope you enjoy this one!

  5. Jenny N July 25, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    I haven’t read The White Queen yet but I do own a copy. Hope you enjoy this one too.

  6. Carrie at In the Hammock Blog July 25, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    i’m reading this now! i really like it!

Leave a Reply

