Q & A with Maggie Stiefvater AND a Linger giveaway!!!!

23 Jul

So, so excited right now for you guys! I was lucky enough to not only get a chance to ask new fave author Maggie Stiefvater some questions about her Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy, but I also have one copy of Linger to giveaway to a lucky Canadian reader! I know, the awesomeness is just oozing around here today. 😀

First up the Q & A:

LL: First of all, thank you so much for taking the time out to answer a few questions. I’m a new fan, but a big one. In your Wolves of Mercy Falls series, you take a very different approach to the mythos of the werewolf. Were you nervous before Shiver was published that fans of werewolf fiction might scoff at/not approve of your take on werewolves?

MS: There was a brief moment after I’d finished it where I thought I HAVE KILLED THE WEREWOLF MYTHOS ENTIRELY, THEY WILL KILL ME WITH PITCHFORKS. But then I thought, you know what? I’m not really into werewolves myself (yes, this surprises everyone) and surely there must be others out there the same way. The thing about paranormal creatures is that they ought to represent a metaphor for something in our culture, and the old werewolf myth doesn’t really reflect current fears. I wanted mine to stand for the fear of losing your personal identity, something that I think’s really relevent in our homogenized, suburban society.

LL: Sam is constantly composing song lyrics in his head.  Do you have any lyrics in particualr that you love?

MS: Of his? Or in general? He has a very emo-angsty set of lyrics in Linger about saying good-bye that I’m fond of. But of other people’s lyrics, I have to say I love The Shins. Songs like their absolutely beautiful “A Comet Appears” are both musically lovely and lyrically incredible:

“We can blow on our thumbs and posture,

But the lonely are such delicate things,

The wind from a wasp could blow them,

Into the sea,

With stones on their feet,

Lost to the light and the loving we need,”

LL: For Sam, winter and summer appear as too very polar opposites, with winter representing cold, isolation(despite having his pack) and longing while summer embodies warmth, familiartiy and belonging. Do you prefer one season over the other?

MS: I do indeed. But it’s neither summer nor winter. I’m a fall person, through and through. Possibly this is because I was born in November and I just spent so much of my childhood selfishly looking forward to my birthday that I can’t get over it. But fall — I feel more creative in fall. Plus, it’s an edge. There’s something about edges of things — fall as an edge at the end of the year, evening as an edge at the end of the day . . . *dreamy*

LL: Linger is one of the most aniticipated releases of the summer. Are there any books that are on your must-read list for the upcoming summer/fall season?

MS: Hmmm. I just picked up an advanced copy of THE MARBURY LENS at ALA and I’m really, really hoping to love it. But really my answer is the same as everyone’s, isn’t it? I WANT MOCKINGJAY.

LL: Once again, thanks so much for answering my questions. I hope that not all of them were repeats! 🙂

MS: They were great questions. 🙂 Thank you.

I’m such a fan-girl that I still can’t believe that I actually got the chance to have Maggie over to my little corner of the blogosphere! *takes moment to once again do her happy fan-girl dance*

OK, I’m back. And now for the giveaway!

As usual I’m going to make this short and sweet and fun. Just comment below and tell me besides Linger (duh!) what other books are you most looking forward to reading in the next few months. That’s it. Easy-peasy. I’ll run the contest until the 5th of August. And, yeah, you have to be in Canada.

If you feel like following me, cool, but you don’t have to. What you should do, though, is follow Maggie. She’s is one of my favorite twitter peeps. And she’s on Facebook. And – ah heck, you know what? Here’s a list of places you can find Maggie online. A list is much easier than me rambling on, eh?

Maggie Stiefvater’s website:
http://www.maggiestiefvater.com/

SHIVER series site:
http://www.maggiestiefvater.com/shiver/

Maggie Stiefvater’s blog:
http://m-stiefvater.livejournal.com/

Author Twitter:
http://twitter.com/mstiefvater

Author Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Maggie-Stiefvater-Really-its-me/412830324465?v=wall

Scholastic.com official Shiver page
http://www.scholastic.com/shiver/

Oh, before I go, have you had a chance to see Maggie’s Linger book trailer? It’s good. Actually it’s more than that. It’s simply beautiful and the best book trailer I’ve seen. I still tear up when I watch it. Stunning.

Make sure to pop back in tomorrow for my gushing fangirl review of Linger.

35 Responses to “Q & A with Maggie Stiefvater AND a Linger giveaway!!!!”

  1. JK July 23, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    Oooh enter me, enter me! After all the buzz about this series, I’m looking forward to getting started with Shiver!

    • lavenderlines July 23, 2010 at 9:45 am #

      You haven’t read Shiver yet? Tsk, tsk! 😛

  2. Jen Arnold July 23, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Great post and love how easy this contest is!

    The book I’m most looking forward to reading (besides Shiver and Linger) would have to be Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins!

    • lavenderlines July 23, 2010 at 9:52 am #

      OMG me, too! I am literally counting down the days. I think I have a review copy coming, but I’m also going to the midnight release party and will buy a copy. So, I may host a giveaway of THAT, too!

      • Jen July 23, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

        Ohh I heard a rumor that they weren’t doing review copies…lucky you!

      • lavenderlines July 23, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

        I don’t think it’s an ARC. I’m hoping once it’s released there will be finished copies available.

  3. Amanda Makepeace July 23, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    I can’t enter the giveaway, but I still wanted to stop by and thank Maggie and Colleen for an awesome interview!! I love reading an author’s perspective on their own work. 😀

  4. Rayn Insley July 23, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    I loved shiver so much when I read it
    Book i’m dying to read this year are Matched, Firelight, Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares, and Extraordinary.
    Finally a canadian contest! 🙂

    • lavenderlines July 23, 2010 at 11:03 am #

      I have a copy of Matched coming. 😀 I just discovered Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares yesterday. Looks so good!

  5. Nicole Paul July 23, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    Hey definitely looking forward to Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins and the next book in the immortals series by alyson noel as well as clockwork angel bye cassandra clare those are only a few of like 30 books 🙂

    • lavenderlines July 23, 2010 at 11:02 am #

      I still have to read Noel’s Shadowland. And yeah, Clockwork Angel is on my “YAY!” list, too. 😀

  6. Laurie Lamb July 23, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    Like Maggie, I WANT MOCKINGJAY! Great interview, LL.

    • lavenderlines July 23, 2010 at 11:02 am #

      Thx! Yeah, it seems Mockingjay is on everyone’s list.

  7. Jackeline July 23, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    I can’t enter the giveaway, but kudos for the awesome interview. It’s so endearing to know that Maggie cannot wait for Mockingjay, because I feel the same way. 🙂

  8. Bella July 23, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    Yay a contest for Canadians! Linger sounds awesome 🙂

    • lavenderlines July 23, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

      You forgot to tell me what upcoming book you’re looking forward to. 😛

  9. MartinaCK July 23, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    You’re going to make me pick ONE book I wanna read?? Torture. Ummmm… Really can’t wait to read Luxe.

    🙂

    • lavenderlines July 23, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

      Luxe, is that historical fiction?

  10. Jeannette July 23, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    Add my name to the many that can’t wait for Mockingjay. Shiver,Linger and Clockwork Angel are also on my “must read” list.

  11. Kylie July 23, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    The books I am most looking forward to besides Linger and Mockingjay are

    1) Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare
    2) Crescendo – Becca Fitzpatrick

    And about a bajillion more.

    Thanks!

  12. Pam July 23, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    Yay I love the Wolves of Mercy Falls books and of COURSE I love Maggie! She’s amazing.

    I have tons of books on my to-read list for the summer, it’s hard to pick one that I’m most excited to read. I actually just bought Beautiful Creatures and can’t wait to jump into that one. 🙂

    • lavenderlines July 23, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

      I have beautiful Creatures here, too, but haven’t read it yet. Too many great books! LOL

  13. Liz July 24, 2010 at 1:25 am #

    Oh my gosh, I can’t wait to read Linger, so thanks for doing the giveaway!

    The books that I’m most looking forward to this summer are Mockingjay (of course), and Clockwork Angel.

    Thanks again!

  14. Jenny N July 24, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    Nice interview, Maggie seems like a fun person to hang around with. I jope I can meet her one day if she ever does any events in Canada. Some books I’m looking forward to are Beautiful Darkness, Paranormalcy, Bright Young Things and also Clockwork Angel which I just got a review copy this week.

    • lavenderlines July 24, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

      You physically have your review copy of Clockwork Angel? As, in you can hug it and stuff? OMG I am SOOOO jealous! Fingers crossed that a review copy is heading my way, soon. :0)

      • Jenny N July 25, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

        Lol you are too funny. I was so excited I when I got it and didnt think I was getting a copy. Well hope you get one too.

  15. Melanie July 26, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    Yay!! Thanks for the giveaway!! I can’t wait to read Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick, Clockwork Angel and many more. 😀

    I enjoyed the interview!

    melvautour(at)hotmail(d0t)com

  16. Erin July 26, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    Great interview! Besides Linger, I can’t wait for Mockingjay. Less than a month to go!

  17. Karoline July 26, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    I’m looking forward to five books:

    1. Mockingjay (of course)
    2. The Fall – Guillermo Del Toro
    3. Terminal State – Jeff Somers
    4. The Red Queen – Philippa Gregory
    5. Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare

    great interview!!! can’t wait for these books, and Linger !

    sensitivemuse at gmail dot com

    thanx for holding a contest just for us Canadians 🙂

    • lavenderlines July 26, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

      My pleasure! Heh, a lot of the books on your list are also ones on my list! All of them, in fact, except Terminal State. I’ll have to look into that one.

  18. Ashley July 26, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    Much like everyone else, I can’t wait to read ‘Mockingjay.’ I’m also looking forward to ‘Grace’ by Elizabeth Scott, ‘Matched’ by Allie Condie, & ‘The DUFF’ by Kody Keplinger.

    • lavenderlines July 26, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

      Great books! I have a copy of Matched on the way. 🙂

  19. maria July 30, 2010 at 1:27 am #

    I am most looking forward to reading Lauren Weisenberger’s new book, A Night At Chateau Marmont. Please enter me in the book giveaway!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Q & A with Maggie Stiefvater AND a Linger giveaway!!!! « Lavender Lines -- Topsy.com - July 23, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jen Arnold, Colleen McKie. Colleen McKie said: Squee! My interview with @mstiefvater AND a Canadian Linger giveaway. http://wp.me/pAWn2-i4 […]

  2. Twitted by Lavender_Lines - July 24, 2010

    […] This post was Twitted by Lavender_Lines […]

Leave a Reply

