Book Purge 2010: Part Two

22 Jul

See that huge, honkin’ stack of books? See it, huh, huh, huh???? THAT, by book luvin’ friends, is my purge pile so far. And I still have to go through two bookcases downstairs. I think we can call this a victory, eh?

Once I got into the groove of it, it was pretty darn easy. I was a book organizing, book purging machine. I worked all day, for about 6 hours and was so very, very happy with what I got accomplished. Except for the sore, possibly bruise, possibly something pulled foot.

Yeah, leave it to me to injure myself purging books. Here’s the deal: even though I decided to order the books room by room, I kinda changed my mind.I mean, I HAVE to have all my Kelley Armstrongs together. So, there were several trips up and down the stairs with an armload of books. And for some reason I decided barefoot was the way to go. Obviously not because now I’m hobbling around with an injured left food.

Oddly enough, this isn’t my first book-related injury.

I have a marathon one sitting reading of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince to thank for my tendinitis.

Yay, me.

14 Responses to “Book Purge 2010: Part Two”

  1. Vasilly July 22, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    Wow! That is a huge pile of books! The lucky library or store that receives them will be grateful to get them!

    • lavenderlines July 22, 2010 at 10:13 am #

      And I’m not done! LOL Going to try to sell the paperbacks. Hardcovers are off to the library or a local women’s shelter.

  2. amymckie July 22, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    I got a blister brushing my cat before going to New York for BEA so I won’t say anything about your injuries. Book related makes more sense than cat related 😉

    I am so impressed at your piles! Scary amount of books there!! It makes me jealous of the amount of books you must have in your house 😀

    • lavenderlines July 22, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      You’ll have to come for a visit to the library of Colleen. 🙂

      • amymckie July 22, 2010 at 10:25 am #

        I will definitely have to do that one of these days, you are right 🙂

  3. Iris July 22, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Those are all of the books you’re going to get rid of? Wow, that’s a victory indeed!

    • lavenderlines July 22, 2010 at 10:15 am #

      I still have 2 bookcases to go through. Plus the hubs has a load of books (that;ll be in my next book purge post)

  4. Amanda July 22, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    Yay for purges! I have probably purged that many in the last couple months, but every time I get up to about 50 I take the stacks to Half Price Books…

    • lavenderlines July 22, 2010 at 10:23 am #

      There’s a second hand bookstore near-by. Think they’ll be getting my paperbacks. Nice to make a bit of cash back.

  5. Kenn Crawford July 22, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    I’m jealous at the amount of books you have… and that’s just the purged pile! With it being tourist season on the island I’d have a yard sale! 🙂

    • lavenderlines July 22, 2010 at 10:23 am #

      Yeah, but I kinda hate tourists. LOL

  6. Suzanne July 22, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    That is an impressive purge.

  7. steph July 23, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    I see Richler and MacDonald and several others I recognize didn’t make the cut! That’s what I find brave about purging: getting rid of books in the so-called Canadian canon. People act as though if you don’t have the major CanLit authors on your shelves (if you’re Canadian), then you can’t really be worth your salt as a Canadian reader. Bunk, I say. I’m not going to like anyone just because it’s “proper.”

    Good for you for keeping only what you truly like.

    I was checking out Word Nerd at the store the other day, though. It’s not good?

    • lavenderlines July 23, 2010 at 9:42 am #

      Heh, yeah, the Richler book is actually part of the hubs pile. Didn’t realize that it ended up in the pic. LOL And Fall on Your Knees is going because I own several copies. But I did get rid of some Robertson Davies, Gabriel Garcia Marcuez and Michael Ondaatje. They just weren’t my cup of tea AT ALL. As far as Word Nerd, I was going to pass it on to another blogger, but changed my mind. It’s staying. And you should totally read it.

      A lot of the books I purged were actually excellent books; with that being said I knew I’d never reread them, so they are being passed on.

Leave a Reply

