Wednesday’s Words

21 Jul

This is a bit from a piece I am currently working on. Started out as flash fiction, then seemed to decide it wanted to be a short story. Now, it’s look more like a full-length piece.  Hope you enjoy it!

I open my eyes to darkness flecked with light. Struggle to get up, but my arms and legs fail me miserably. Something’s happened. Something bad. But my brain is working as well as my limbs. The flecks of light fade and I’m left with just darkness. Close my eyes and drift.

This time a bit more light. Not much, but enough that I get a fuzzy picture of my surroundings. Dark blue walls. One window with curtains drawn. I push myself up on my elbows, feeling the softness of the bed underneath me. The outline of classic rock posters on the wall. A mini basketball hoop on the back of the closed door. Obviously a boy’s room.

Boy’s room. Flashes of what I remember before the darkness hit. A boy. A date. Then something went wrong. Anger. Fear. Tears. Pain. Blood.

I put my hand instinctively to my neck. Bandages. More memories seep back in. Holding hands on the way to the car. Kissing goodnight. My neck being nuzzled. My neck being –

“Oh shit.” My voice is scratchy, throat raw like I’ve been screaming. I throw off the plaid blanket that was covering me and swing my legs around. My feet hit the floor and I’m up and stumbling to the door. I sigh in relief when it opens, half expecting it to be locked. I fling it open and leap out of the room, colliding with someone.

They yell in surprise and I squeak, the best I can do. I back up against the wall, hands to chest. Immediately I hear the sound of bare feet slapping on marble and I know I’m screwed. I could try to run, but something tells me it would be useless. So I do the next best thing. I slump down the wall and start crying.

2 Responses to “Wednesday’s Words”

  1. Jeannette July 22, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    Great Stuff. Can’t wait to read more of it.

    • lavenderlines July 22, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

      Ah, thanks!

Leave a Reply

