Music Monday: Blackbird (for Ciaran crow)

19 Jul

On Thursday of last week, our pet crow Ciaran passed away. He had been sick off and on for about a month and a half, but his death was still sudden. And compeltely heartbreaking.

People who don’t have pet birds don’t understand how loving and affectionate they are. I had hand-raised Ciaran from about 4 weeks old and he loved me. He would suck on my finger and loved getting Ciaran cuddles. He would fluff himself up and waddle around the living room like a duck.

Anytime Jason walked into the living room, Ciaran would greet him with a big, “HELLO!”. He also loved saying “Up, up” and “What, what, what” over and over.  He’d coo and stick his neck out for scritches.

He passes away peacefully in Jason’s hands, with me rubbing his head. He knew he was loved.

Blackbird is one of my favorite Sarah McLachlan songs, even though it’s a cover. And this week it’s for Ciaran.

8 Responses to “Music Monday: Blackbird (for Ciaran crow)”

  1. Amanda Makepeace July 19, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    What wonderful memories. ((((Colleen))))

    • lavenderlines July 19, 2010 at 10:47 am #

      Thx Amanda. 🙂

  2. amymckie July 19, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    I’m so sorry to hear about Ciaran. Great song choice.

    • lavenderlines July 19, 2010 at 10:54 am #

      Thx Amy. I love the song and it seemed fitting.

  3. steph July 19, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    I love that song and I love Sarah.

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I have had several birds over the course of my life, budgies, love birds, finches…and they are indeed sweet companions with amazing personalities.

    • lavenderlines July 19, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

      Thx. We have a house full of birds and each one is wonderful and amazing.

  4. Jo July 19, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    I’m so sorry for your loss. It’s always hard to lose a companion. Beautiful song choice — Sarah’s singing is so sweet on this one.

    • lavenderlines July 19, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

      I think this is one of my all-time favorite songs. I also love the Beatles’ original, of course.

Leave a Reply

