In My Mailbox

18 Jul

This weekly meme is a great way to let other readers know what books they should be looking out for. In My Mailbox is hosted by the  The Story Siren.  You can find out more deets about it  here.

So, this week brought me a smörgåsbord of books both for keeps and borrowed. I got a signed review copy, wins and swaps. First up, the books I got for keepsies:

Gifted from the wonderful Amy over at Amy Reads:
Dust by Joan Frances Turner – I dig zombies. I dig zombie books. A zombie book where the zombies still think and love? Kinda diggin’ that, too.

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff – The cover, oh the cover! This was a book I wanted to read before I even knew what it was about based solely on the creepiness of the cover. Add changeling kids and a lead who’s name is almost the same as my last name and I was hooked.

Suspect by Kristin Wolden Nitz – I hadn’t heard of this book until Amy recommended it. It’s an YA mystery, a genre I don’t read a lot. Mucho curious about this one.

Won from Amanda over at The Zen Leaf via Twitter.
Trance by Linda Gerber – About a chick why can sense when someone is going to die. Creepy?  Yes. Delish? We shall see.

Won from The Fauna Facebook group and Random House Canada
Fauna by Alyssa York – Anyone who knows me knows I not only love animals, but have a slew of them both as pets and rehabs. A pic of the hubs with a baby chick in his hands won me this one.

For review from author
Promise by Kristie Cooke – Kristie is a friend of an online friend of mine and I was tickled pink when asked to review Kristie’s books. It’s signed and everything!

All of these books were borrowed from Amy at Amy Reads. Amy is another local book blogger. Yeah, we have the same last name but after much discussion decided we weren’t related. At least not directly. On the Island pretty much everyone’s related. :0P

Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce – Cue the squeeing. Little Red Riding Hood with a twist, this one has been getting mega online love.

Trickster: Native American Tales: A Graphic novel by Matt Dembicki – I don’t read a lot of graphic novels and, sadly, I am unfamiliar with Native American traditions and stories. Amy spoke so highly of this book that I knew I had to give it a try.

Bamboo People by Mitali Perkins – This YA novel takes place in Burma and deals with war and politics. Lately I realize I’m not very well read when it comes to the literature of other countries, which is really a sin.

Of All the Stupid Things by Alexandra Diaz – This book deals with friendship, trust and acceptance when one of those friends comes out. I’ve never read any GLBT fiction before (I know, shame on me). As I’ve said recently I want to try to branch out and read other genres besides my fave.

I am J by Cris Beam – This YA novel about a trans-gendered teen looks like it will be both intense and inspiring.

I’ll get there. It better be worth the trip: 40th anniversary edition by John Donovan – This was the first teen novel written that actually deals with homosexuality. As someone new to the GLBT genre I think it will be interesting to see if it stands the test of time.

So, that’s what I got this week! How about you?

6 Responses to “In My Mailbox”

  1. Iris July 18, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    I wish I lived that close to Amy. Although I’m sure it would suck for the books on my TBR pile: I’d end up borrowing way too many books from her.

    • lavenderlines July 18, 2010 at 9:39 am #

      Yeah, the visit definitely added to my TBR pile. But I gave her a few, too. 😛

  2. amymckie July 18, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    Oh la la, what a great selection of book 😉 heh. And yep, I’m sure somewhere back there we have some kind of connection. It is the Island after all!

    • lavenderlines July 18, 2010 at 9:59 am #

      Heh heh. So you like my books this week? Most of them are yours, after all! 😛

      • amymckie July 18, 2010 at 10:07 am #

        I definitely like. And I’m glad I saw this when I did because I completely forgot to list the books from you in my IMM post. I guess because it was last Sunday I forgot that I hadn’t included them already! Had to update 🙂

  3. brandileigh2003 July 18, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    Great week! Happy reading.

Leave a Reply

