Book Purge 2010: Part One

18 Jul

Yes, that's a can of paint holding up the shelf. Fancy, ain't I?

The sunning is shining, it’s hotter’n Hell out so….good day to start the purge, right? Yeah. I decided to jump right in and start purging. As you can see from the picture, I have a zillion piles going. I’m going to reorganize as I purge. Instead of organize all the shelves together, I’m thinking if the shelves in each room are organized, that’s just fine with me. Otherwise it’d be a bitch. 10 + shelves spread throughout a pretty big farmhouse? Not gonna happen.

Okay, the piles:
Obviously I have my purged piles. Two shelves done and about 50 books going. Not bad, eh?

Then I have the Meh, I’m not sure will have to flip a coin most likely piles. Kinda self explanatory, n’est-pas?

Then there are piles for adult read, adult not read, YA read Ya not read, urban fantasy read, urban fantasy not read, children’s – you get the point.

I thought that purging my unread books would be hardest, but only a 1/2 hour in I realize that the books I’ve read will be the hardest to get rid of, especially books read in the last couple of years. 10 years ago I was a huge Maeve Binchy fan, but when I got to her books I didn’t hesitate to put them in the purged piles. But on my desk next to me is a stack of kids’ books I’ve read in the last 6 months. Everytime I grab one and go to throw it on the purged pile I swear it talks to me:

Remember how good I was, huh, huh? Page 40 you laughed so hard you almost threw up. Then on page 60 you were snotting tears all over the place. And you’re putting me in the purged pile? Why? Why? Whyyyyyyyyy????????

Okay,so may they aren’t really talking to me (that’d be a whole other blog post) but the reading is so fresh in my mind it’s hard to purge them. But I know that I will. I just need a bit of time to get used to the idea.

And music blaring so I can’t hear them whine.

13 Responses to “Book Purge 2010: Part One”

  1. amymckie July 18, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    Wow! I am impressed at how many you are getting rid of. I know what you mean about them talking to you, they do complain sometimes. Loud music should help though πŸ™‚

    • lavenderlines July 18, 2010 at 10:33 am #

      Yeah, some of them are easy decisions. Others? Not so much.
      Hey, did you read this past year’s Canada Reads books? I have them here if you want them.

      • amymckie July 18, 2010 at 10:34 am #

        Which ones were last year? Nikolski won right? I read (and loved) it.

      • lavenderlines July 18, 2010 at 10:35 am #

        Nikolski, Fall on Your Knees, Generation X, The Jaded Peony, At a Good Fault.

      • amymckie July 18, 2010 at 10:37 am #

        I have Nikolski, but the others might be fun to read sometime sure.

      • lavenderlines July 18, 2010 at 10:41 am #

        Want ’em? I tried each and didn’t care for them (bad Canadian that I am) LOL

      • amymckie July 18, 2010 at 10:42 am #

        Sure! I will see if I am a better Canadian πŸ˜‰

      • lavenderlines July 18, 2010 at 10:44 am #

        HAH! They’re yours. :0)

  2. Iris July 18, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    Like Amy I am impressed by the numbers you re getting rid of. And I recognise being talked to by books. My main problem with getting rid of books I have read but didn’t love (because I always keeps the books I love) is that I always think that I might not have enjoyed them now, but that I could very well change my mind if I read them again in a few years.

  3. Carrie at In the Hammock Blog July 18, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

    it’s so hard for me to get rid of books too!! and then even when i get rid of tons, it barely makes a dent in my stash!! good luck!

    • lavenderlines July 18, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

      Today’s tally is between 150-200 purged, but yeah, I still have loads I’m keeping. So much that tomorrow I’m buying a new bookcase. LOL

  4. Suzanne July 18, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    I can see how purging books you’ve read would be more difficult than those you haven’t.

    • lavenderlines July 18, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

      It is! I have a pile of maybes I’ll have to go through again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

