Book purge 2010

17 Jul

My book sitch is getting a wee bit out of control. All 10 of my bookcases are jam-packed, in some cases the books are doubled and tripled. I have stacks of books all over my office and my bedroom. My TBR books are all over the place and there is no rhyme nor reason to ANY of the shelves. I desperately need to organize my books. And I’m afeared this means getting rid of quite a few.

I hate purging books, just HATE it. But the amount of books in the house is stressin’ me out so I know I need to do it. Now I just have to figure out how I decide what stays and what goes.  I’ve always wanted a huge library and in two or three years this will be a reality. But even with a big ole book room, I think I need to be pickier about what I keep. That whole quality over quantity thing.

I have a lot of books I’ve read that I liked, but didn’t love. I imagine some of those will be going.

I have about 400 books in the house that I haven’t read. Some of them I know I’ll never get around to reading, so I figure the majority of my purge will be here. Any books that I bought new but haven’t read will be staying unless I look at the blurb and have no idea why I bought it. Cheapie second hand books purchased at library sales and flea markets will be going unless the book is by a fave author. Or an author that could become a fave. Or the book was recommended. Sigh. Yeah, this ain’t gonna be easy.

I know there will be some tough decisions made. I imagine I’ll end up with a pretty big “maybe” pile that I’ll have to think long and hard about. I love all my books and each one was chosen with care and thought. Letting any of them go will be hard.

Do you keep all of your books or give some away? How do you decide what stays and what goes?

19 Responses to “Book purge 2010”

  1. amymckie July 17, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    Always a tough decision what to keep when starting a purge. I’ve found now that I’ve become pickier about what I keep that it is much easier to purge though. I have to really love something to keep it now! And even if I love a book I’ll sometimes give it away so that it gets more publicity!

    • lavenderlines July 17, 2010 at 9:43 am #

      I think once I start, it’ll get easier. It’s just the starting that sucks. 😛

  2. Jody B. July 17, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    I’m like you…I hate getting rid of books. I don’t have nearly as many as you do though. As much as I love reading, I think I lack some of your passion for it. If you’re selling any you think I might like, let me know.

    • lavenderlines July 17, 2010 at 9:45 am #

      I’ll keep that in mind, but I don’t sell my purged books to friends: I give them away. LOL Jeannette has already called first dibs, but I’ll let you know. 🙂

  3. Melly July 17, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    I give away books all the time, but I’m nota big book buyer to begin with. Whenever I move apartments I usually get rid of some, or whenever I feel like getting rid of clutter.

    • lavenderlines July 17, 2010 at 9:44 am #

      I’ve always wanted a home library, so I’ve been collecting books since high school. But the collection has exploded over the past three years.

  4. Jody B. July 17, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    LOL…I won’t fight Jeannette

    • lavenderlines July 17, 2010 at 10:11 am #

      Heh, heh. Once she picks the ones she wants, I’ll let you know. What genres/types do you like to read?

  5. Heather (Book-Savvy) July 17, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    That can never be simple. It makes me feel a little better if they go to the book swap on Goodreads or I donate them to the library fundraisers, but it’s still painful to let them go. I’ve actually regretted giving some away that I’ve gone and bought them again. That’s bad.

    • lavenderlines July 17, 2010 at 10:11 am #

      All the books I purge will be donate to various places. And yeah, I don’t want to purge only to end up buying the exact same books later down the road.

  6. Jody B. July 17, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    I’ll read just about anything but I’m not fond of something that will make me cry.

    • lavenderlines July 17, 2010 at 10:31 am #

      Okay, no tear jerkers for you! LOL

  7. Dawn - She Is Too Fond of Books July 17, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    ugh, what a tough chore! I did a big purge in February – first to go were books I’ve read but wouldn’t recommend (and obviously won’t read again), then a few duplicates, then those I haven’t read and aren’t really my go-to genres.

    One of my goals for summer is to get the bookstacks onto shelves (I think this will mean adding more bookcases to the house 🙂 )

    p.s. thanks for your comment on my review of PUT ‘EM UP! I know there are a lot of classic preserving/canning books out there. This one really struck me, with its many pictures and drawings, the step-by-step detailed instructions, and the out-of-the-ordinary recipes. Do give it a try.

    • lavenderlines July 17, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

      Heh, even with my purge I think I’ll need three or four more bookcases. The hubs says he may build them. I think the hardest will be the books I haven’t read yet. After all, if I bought them then I must have wanted to read them, right? But I think I’ll also end up purging the ones that aren’t my usual genres.

  8. Amanda Makepeace July 17, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    I’ve purged three times in my life. Two of those times it was by choice and felt good. I’ve always made sure to keep certain books that meant a lot to me–usually ones that were either life changing or enlightening. I’ve carried those books with me since I was in high school (oh so many moons ago). 😉

    Good luck with the purging! It’s always nice when you can share and pass on those books to your friends and family.

  9. Amy L. Campbell July 17, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    I actually buy very few books to begin with, which makes it much easier as it never becomes a problem in the first place.

    • lavenderlines July 17, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

      Yeah, I’m slightly addicted to buying books. Thinking of starting a support group. LOL

  10. Iris July 18, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    I can’t help you, because I never really did a book purge myself. However, you have made me feel infinitely better, because I “only” own 180 unread books.

    • lavenderlines July 18, 2010 at 9:50 am #

      Yeah, my number was really just a guess. I’m sure it’s higher than that. :0o

Leave a Reply

