My fangirl moment

13 Jul

Okay, so this post isn’t related to books, or writing. I could kinda make the connection, but you know what? I’m not gonna. I had an ultimate fangirl moment yesterday and I wanted to share the whole story with you guys.

So, if you follow me on Twitter or Facebook, odds are you know I had a chance to meet Stephen Moyer yesterday. But what you don’t know is the whole awesome, amazing, can’t-believe-it-happened moment. (Or actually moments) So here it is:

Live with Regis and Kelly is currently on Prince Edward Island, where I live. I was luckily enough to get a ticket to go through one of my best friends. We managed to switch our tickets to go to the taping where Stephen Moyer (better known to some as Vampire Bill on True Blood) was the guest star.

The taping started at 12:30 pm. I was in line by 7 am. I’m that kind of fan. And while everyone in line was buzzing about Regis and Kelly I was bouncing at the chance to see Stephen.

They opened the gates at 12 pm and I was Hell bent to get a good seat. And I did. Third row from the front.  As I told my husband I could have yelled “Stephen! I want to have your baby!” and he would have heard me. I decided yelling that could get my ass kicked out, so I didn’t. But I did yell, oh yes I did.

Before I left the house, I grabbed my copy of Beccaa Wilcott’s Truly, Madly, Deadly, The Unofficial True Blood Companion. My plan was to wave it every time the camera came my way. I heart Becca and the book is wicked, so I figured, hey, some free publicity can’t hurt.

So I’m vibrating in my seat, book in hand and Stephen comes on. He’s handsome, he’s funny, he’s British. I was thrilled. Cut to commercial break.

The audience is pretty quiet. No one is yelling ANYTHING at Stephen. Now, I can’t have that, can I?

“STEPHEN! I LOVE YOU!!!!”

He looks over. I’m holding Becca’s book in the air. I get a smile and a laugh. I am in fangirl Heaven.

Then I get yelled at jokingly by Regis for not yelling I loved him. He even asked if he was going to have to come down and suck on my neck. I am in surreal land.

Pretty cool, eh? Stephen finished his interview and then he was whisked off by security. Another commercial break. I look over my right shoulder and who should be over a ways, signing autographs but Stephen himself. Two seconds of hesitation. I grab my book and head over.

As I get there he’s just finishing up and his peeps are ushering him away. I’m about to lose my chance. Or am I?

“Stephen! Sign my book ,please?”

He turns. He sees me. He smiles.

“For you, sweetheart, of course.”

Or something  like that. Point is he saw me and the book, recognized me from yelling at him and CAME BACK!

I ended up with an autographed book and ( thanks to another fan, Jenna) a picture of the two of us.


Best. day. EVER.

22 Responses to “My fangirl moment”

  1. amymckie July 13, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    Quite the fangirl, but quite exciting 🙂 Must have been you I could hear yelling from my house 😉 LOL (Seriously though, I can hear the crowd from here). Congrats again, so very awesome!

    • lavenderlines July 13, 2010 at 9:41 am #

      LMAO Could have been. I’m not a big scream at a celeb kinda girl, but what can I say? I really wanted to meet him. 😀

  2. Christine July 13, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    I still don’t really know who this guy is, but hey, a sexy Brit gives you a hug? High 5!

    I’m really excited for you. What a fantastic day!

    • lavenderlines July 13, 2010 at 9:40 am #

      Heh, he’s one of my favorite actors on one of my favorite shows so yeah, pretty cool.

  3. moe July 13, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    this made me smile huge. so happy for you! 🙂

    • lavenderlines July 13, 2010 at 9:40 am #

      Thx! I don’t normally yell at celebs, ‘”m quite shy around them. But I LOVE True Blood. LOL

  4. Amanda Makepeace July 13, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    My mother and I were both giggling with glee over your photo with Stephen Moyer. You are so lucky!! 😀

    • lavenderlines July 13, 2010 at 9:43 am #

      I’m still giggling. Every once in a while I’ll randomly say to Jason, “I met Vampire Bill!”

  5. Suzanne July 13, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    What a great day for you!

  6. Britty July 13, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    Wow, I would yell at him, too. Hunka, hunka! Goes to show you have to shout out what you believe. Good for you!

  7. Lorri July 13, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    That is awesome Colleen! I am very happy for you!

    • lavenderlines July 13, 2010 at 10:42 am #

      Thanks Lorri! I was just a tad excited. 😛

  8. Becca Wilcott July 13, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    So cool! I’ll be tuning in tomorrow for sure! (Watched a bit of the show today and forgot how *beautiful* PEI is. I need to get back there sooner than later.)

    • lavenderlines July 13, 2010 at 10:44 am #

      Come on down for a visit! I’ll crack open a bottle of wine. 🙂

      • Becca Wilcott July 13, 2010 at 10:50 am #

        You used the magic word: wine. Ha!

        I was there during the summer, probably June/July. Was gorgeous. What’s the fall like?

      • lavenderlines July 13, 2010 at 11:50 am #

        Fall is amazing! Beautiful colors everywhere, amazing local food, not as hot as summer. Also, not as many other tourists as summer. My favorite season here, by far.

  9. B.Kienapple July 13, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    Brilliant move! Though I’m still on team Eric. 😉

  10. Midnight Bloom July 14, 2010 at 2:40 am #

    That is just sooooo cool! I’m all for Team Eric, but meeting/seeing Stephen Moyer and getting to see Regis & Kelly as an audience member must have been such an amazing experience! I would have been too nervous to say anything, lol. 🙂

    • lavenderlines July 14, 2010 at 7:00 am #

      I’m normally too nervous to say anything and also I don’t want to bug them. But, Hell, this was Vampire Bill! LOL

  11. Holly July 18, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    Colleen….that is soooo awesome!! Jealous beyond belief!! Congrats!!! : )

    • lavenderlines July 18, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

      Thx! I’m still giggling in delight when I think about it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention My fangirl moment « Lavender Lines -- Topsy.com - July 13, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by AllStephenMoyer.com. AllStephenMoyer.com said: RT @Lavender_Lines: My fangirl moment with Stephen Moyer. http://wp.me/pAWn2-fj […]

Leave a Reply

