In My Mailbox

11 Jul

This weekly meme is a great way to let other readers know what books they should be looking out for. In My Mailbox is hosted by the  The Story Siren.  You can find out more deets about it  here.

BOUGHT
Yeah, yeah, I know. I”m on a book buying ban, right? Well, this week I bought 2 books at Value Village. Each was 99 cents. I justified the purchase because of the low cost. Kinda sneaky of me, but oh well. 😛

Simon and Schuster
Salem Witch Tryouts by Kelly McClymer – This one really looked too cute to pass up.

Random House
Prom Nights from Hell – This collection of short stories has been on my radar for some time. Pretty cool to snag it for under a buck.

WON

From the fine folks at Candlewick Press
Alien Invasion and Other Inconveniences by Brian Yansky – I enter the twitter contest for this book based soley on the cool title. I haven’t read any alien books that I can recall, so I’m looking forward to this one.

REVIEW

HarperCollins
Jane and the Damned by Janet Mullany – Yeah, the market is currently saturated with literary mash-ups, but this sub-genre that takes the authors of literary classics and plops them in the middle of a supernatural tale kinda appeals to me.

Second Story Press
I discovered this Canadian publisher through another book blogger’s post on one of their books.

thinandbeautiful.com by Liane Shaw – Websites glorifying anorexia are popping up all over the web. This YA book deals with a teen and these website. Topical and important book, I think.

Rough Magic by Caryl Cude Mullin – Shakespeare, Celtic lore and fantasy – this one looks interesting!

The White Space Between by Ami Sands Brodoff – This novel is about a mother and daughter and surviving the Holocaust. I am trying to branch out and read more novels about different ethnic groups and I haven’t  read a lot about the Holocaust, so this book will help with both.

The Last River Child by Lori Ann Bloomfield – This one takes place before and during WWI, another time period I haven’t read a lot about.

So that’s what I landed this week. How about you?

8 Responses to “In My Mailbox”

  1. amymckie July 11, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    A lot of great books there, and 99 cents totally doesn’t count as a book purchase 😀 thinandbeautiful.com sounds especially good. Can’t wait to read your thoughts on it!

    • lavenderlines July 11, 2010 at 10:36 am #

      Yeah, I think that one will get bumped up to the top of the very, very long TBR pile. 🙂

  2. steph July 11, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    Haha! I just did the same kind of post on Thursday! http://www.bellasbookshelves.com/?p=2068

  3. steph July 11, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    Jane of the Damned reminds me of the Little Bee cover. Have you read that book?

    • lavenderlines July 12, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

      I’ve heard of Little Bee, but haven’t read it yet, no.

  4. Missie July 12, 2010 at 2:10 am #

    Salem Witch Tryouts looks so cute! I hadn’t heard of it before. Thanks for sharing!

    Here is my IMM! Plus, I have a new meme that I’m trying to start: When I’m Not Reading. Hope you can check it out. Enjoy your books!

    The Unread Reader

    • lavenderlines July 12, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

      Heh, I actually handed off The Salem Witch Trial book – it’s written in verse. Not my cup of tea. LOL
      I’ll def check out your meme. 🙂

  5. brandileigh2003 July 12, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    Great week! You have some sweet reading in your future! Here is what I got.

Leave a Reply

