Review: The Dead-Tossed Waves

10 Jul

Random House Canada, 2010

Gabry lives a quiet life. As safe a life as is possible in a town trapped between a forest and the ocean, in a world teeming with the dead, who constantly hunger for those still living. She’s content on her side of the Barrier, happy to let her friends dream of the Dark City up the coast while she watches from the top of her lighthouse. But there are threats the Barrier cannot hold back. Threats like the secrets Gabry’s mother thought she left behind when she escaped from the Sisterhood and the Forest of Hands and Teeth. Like the cult of religious zealots who worship the dead. Like the stranger from the forest who seems to know Gabry. And suddenly, everything is changing. One reckless moment, and half of Gabry’s generation is dead, the other half imprisoned. Now Gabry only knows one thing: she must face the forest of her mother’s past in order to save herself and the one she loves.

From Random House Canada website.

If you’ve read my review of Ryan’s The Forest of Hands and Teeth, then you know how head over heels in love I was with that book. Naturally I was mucho excited to dig into The Dead-Tossed Waves, the follow up book. And while I liked it and really enjoyed it, I wasn’t as wowed as I was it’s predecessor.

Once again Ryan starts off with a bang, and there is death and mayhem almost from word one.  I knew as I was reading something huge was going to happen and that only added to the feeling of unease and suspense.  The action is just as wonderfully gruesome and heavy as in The Forest of Hands and Teeth and always kept me on my toes. I was never quite sure when Ryan was going to knock- off a character and I once again enjoyed this feeling of unbalance.

I really, really didn’t like the romance in this one, though. I can’t say a whole heck of  a lot without giving parts away but YA books, and dystopian YA books specifically, need to shake things up a bit when it comes to how they approach romance.  I know that it’s supposed to increase the sense of urgency and tension, but to me it’s kinda getting old.

A little over half way through The Dead-Tossed Waves there is a major plot reveal that totally made me go, “WHAT?”. I didn’t see it coming, and I thought that it was pretty freaking cool. It made me laugh, it made me cry and I so can’t wait to read The Dead and Hollow Places, the next book from Ryan.

Browse inside The Dead-Tossed Waves

4 Responses to “Review: The Dead-Tossed Waves”

  1. Jen July 10, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    I think you recommended The Forest of Hands and Teeth to me via Twitter. I’ve since read both of Ryan’s books, and it’s funny because I had the opposite reaction…while I really liked both books, I preferred The Dead Tossed Waves – loved it! I’m trying to remember the big plot reveal – I think this book had a couple of them. Also very excited for the next one…such a creepy-cool world Ryan has created!

    • lavenderlines July 10, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

      Heh, I think I recommended these books to everyone on Twitter. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Twitted by Lavender_Lines - July 10, 2010

    […] This post was Twitted by Lavender_Lines […]

  2. Tweets that mention Review: The Dead-Tossed Waves « Lavender Lines -- Topsy.com - July 10, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kenn. Kenn said: Cool review RT @Lavender_Lines: Review: The Dead-Tossed Waves by @carrieryan http://wp.me/pAWn2-eP @RandomHouseCA #bookreview […]

Leave a Reply

