Review: Good Girls by Laura Ruby

8 Jul

HarperCollins Canada, 2008

Some people would say this is the story of a photograph. How it was taken and what happened to me after the whole world saw it. And it is. But it’s also the story of a lot of other things.

So look at the picture all you want.

I am so much more than what you see.

From HarperCollins Canada website.

Laura Ruby is fast becoming one of my fave YA authors. She is brutally honest in her description of teens and always tackles difficult topics and situations in her books. The great thing about her novels is that her characters are neither good nor bad: they’re just human. They make mistakes they have to live with and their lives aren’t neatly tied up in a few hundred pages. She writes her characters in such a way that even when they are obviously making the wrong choices, the reader still cares for and likes them.

In Good Girls, I felt every single emotion Audrey felt. These heightened emotions made for some wonderful and awkward moments in the book.  I can’t really go into too much detail without giving aspects of the plot away, but what happens to Audrey and what she ends up going through could happen to any teen girl and I think that what makes for such a great read.

What I also found great was the fact that the writing wasn’t all flowery. The characters aren’t long-winded or prone to soliloquies. Because the writing is real, the characters are real.

While I love my urban fantasy, it’s nice to read a realistic YA book every once in a while. I know I will be reading more from Ruby.

3 Responses to “Review: Good Girls by Laura Ruby”

  1. steph July 9, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    Here I am waiting for your Tish Cohen post when I finally realize it’s not due till the 13th. I keep thinking this tour is every day!

    • lavenderlines July 9, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

      LOL I’ll be posting my review on the 12th and my guest post in on the 13th. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Review: Good Girls by Laura Ruby « Lavender Lines -- Topsy.com - July 8, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by New Book Reviews. New Book Reviews said: Review: Good Girls by Laura Ruby: HarperCollins Canada, 2008 Some people would say this is the stor… http://bit.ly/bTQqLW #books #writing […]

Leave a Reply

