Review: Dead Girl Walking by Linda Joy Singleton

6 Jul

Flux, 2008

I am so dead…
Now, was I supposed to go left or right at the Light?

Seventeen-year-old Amber Borden has a lousy sense of direction—so lousy that she takes a wrong turn when returning from her near-death experience. She ends up in the body of the most popular girl in school, who has just tried to commit suicide.
Can a girl who can’t even navigate the halls of Halsey High discover the secrets of her new identity and find her way back to her own life?

From Flux website.

I picked this book up at the bookstore because I was intrigued by the cover. When I read the blurb on the back I realized that it was right up my alley.

This was a great book. It was just the right combination of funny and serious. Some of the topics in Dead Girl Walking are pretty heavy (suicide, parental stress, fitting in), but Singleton wrote about them in such a way that the right messages got across, but without being heavy handed. I loved how the book addressed the whole “walk a mile in someone else’s shoe” thing and made Amber, and the reader, realize that even the popular kids in high school have their issues.

And come on, someone getting caught in the wrong body because their spirit got lost on the way back to their own? Pretty cool and unique concept.

If you are look for a fun, light supernatural read, then I highly recommend Dead Girl Walking. I can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

4 Responses to “Review: Dead Girl Walking by Linda Joy Singleton”

  1. SocialAnswers July 6, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    Thank you for sharing; as lame as it may sound, I always judge a book by its cover and first few pages; if it does it for me I go for it, if not, it can never win me over!

  2. amymckie July 6, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    This sounds like a pretty funny read, great choice to pick it up 🙂

  3. Linda Joy Singleton July 6, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    Thanks for a really cool review!! Readers can find the first chapter on my http://www.LindaJoySingleton.com website under books.

    And there was no research required for Amber’s bad sense of direction — I get lost so easily it’s become a family joke.

    • lavenderlines July 6, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

      Thanks so much for reading my review! I’m on a self- imposed book buying ban right now but as soon as it’s over, I’m going to pick up the second book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

