Music Monday: Sleepy Maggie

5 Jul

Certain songs are life changing. The lyrics hit you in a certain way and you think, “Wow”. Hear the right song at the right time and you could end a bad relationship, change careers or decide to take up painting. Or, in my case, switch schools, switch majors and move away from home for the first time.

The first time I heard Ashely McIsaac and Mary Jane Lamond’s Sleepy Maggie I was entranced. Fiddle, funky drum beat AND gaelic? I was hooked. I was also restless and felt like I needed a change. A month later I was volunteering at the East Coast Music Awards (ECMAs) and discovered that Mary Jane had graduated from St. Francis Xavier University with a degree in Celtic Studies. Two weeks later I was taking a tour of campus. Six months later I was moving into a dorm and starting classes.

This Wednesday I’m going to see Ashley in concert. For the first time. Wonder if I’ll get the chance to thank him.

One Response to “Music Monday: Sleepy Maggie”

  1. Suzanne July 5, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    That is a great song — I forget that I have it on my iPod and am pleasantly surprised everytime it comes up.

    I hope the concert is as great for you as the feelings for this song.

Leave a Reply

